-   Rotor®-tugs type RT 60

The first four Rotor®-tugs, RT INNOVATION and three sisters, started to work in the harbours of Bremerhaven and Rotterdam in January 1999. Though highly praised by specialist publications no further Rotor®-tugs were ordered for quite a long time. Kooren Shipbuilding and Trading (KST), the company designing and marketing the concept, ordered the next two Rotor®-tugs of type RT-60 with 60+ t bollard pull at ASL shipyard Pte Ltd (ASL) of Singapore in March 2004. The options for two more tugs of the same type were changed into firm orders shortly after. The four tugs were christened:

RT CLAIRE
RT STEPHANIE
RT ANTONIE
RT ZOE

-   Construction phase

RT INNOVATION and her three sisters were examined thoroughly during the years following their commissioning. They were tested even in applications they were not designed for, as offshore and escort towage. The experiences made during these years influenced the further development of Rotor®-tugs. KST worked out three new designs, 45tbp, 60tbp, and 75tbp tugs. The 60t design fulfilled best the requirements of the charterer of the first two tugs, Société Nouvelle de Remorquage du Havre (SNRH), for operation in Le Havre. The first two tugs, RT CLAIRE and RT STEPHANIE, were ordered at ASL of Singapore end of March 2004. The contract for detailed design was awarded to Vuyk Kenton, too of Singapore. Both tugs got christened end of July 2005. Redwise transferred both tugs to Rotterdam. RT STEPHANIE arrived on 1.11.2005 and RT CLAIRE on 15.12.2005 after executing some ship assisting in Singapore habour. RT ANTONIE and RT ZOE , which were ordered later, were handed over to their new owner KST on 8.03.2006. Redwise transferred them jointly to Europe. While taking bunkers in the Middle East RT ZOE was chartered to assist in the salvage of the HYUNDAI FORTUNE . She collided with the bow of the HYUNDAI FORTUNE on 3.04.2006, while still being run by a Redwise transfer crew. She was sent to Hamburg with a heavily damaged wheelhouse as deck load on the FAIRPARTNER. She arrived in Hamburg on 3.05.2006, got repaired by Blohm & Voss and went to work there. RT ANTONIE stayed in the Gulf of Aden to assist in the salvage of HYUNDAI FORTUNE, but only after the Redwise crew was replaced by a Kotug crew. She arrived in Bremerhaven in July 2006, were she is employed by Kotug since. In the following the RT ANTONIE and RT ZOE are described primarily as detail photographs exist. Divergent data of RT CLAIRE and RT STEPHANIE are added in parentheses.


-   Description

General: The propulsion concept of the first Rotor®-tugs remained unchanged. They are tractor tugs with two rudder propellers beneath the bow section and one beneath the stern instead of a skeg. All rudder propellers are protected by docking plates. The rudder propellers are Wartsilä/Lips type CS-200 (Niigata ZP-21). The controllable pitch propellers (fixed pitch propellers with clutch) are of 2,100mm (2,000mm) diameter and run in nozzles. Three Wartsilä 8L20 (Niigata 6L25) diesel engines with 1,340kW/ 1,821bhp (1,350kW/ 1,835bhp) at 1000rpm (750rpm) provide power to the rudder propellers. The tugs have a bollard pull foreward of 70t and astern of 68t and reach a free running speed of 12kts. The tank capacities are 128m3 diesel fuel, 42m3 fresh water, and 41m3 ballast water. The maximum range is 4,000nm using just one engine. Both tugs are equipped to FiFi1 standard (FiFi without standard) with two (one) Fishcon pumps of 1,200m3/h (1,500m3/h) each. They are coupled to the back end of the foreward engines. They provide water for the two (one) monitors and the drenching system with an output of 300m3/h.


Below main deck:

The aft rudder propeller is located in a separate compartment. In front of it is the engine room. It contains the three main engines, two Cummins diesel generator sets with 120kW output, and the fire fighting pumps. The main engines are placed as close as possible to the rudder propellers. Therefore the engines are not placed side by side anymore. In front of the engine room is the compartment for the foreward rudder propellers. Up front are two double-berth crew cabins separated by a sanitary space.


Main deck:



Superstructure:Two single-berth cabins with en-suite sanitary facilities for captain and chief are located at the front end on this deck. Galley, mess room, a toilet, and a utility/store room fitted with laundry area and space for the storage of oil skins and boots are arranged in the aft part of the deckhouse. All accomodation and the wheelhouse are fully air-conditioned. The engine uptakes are placed at both sides at the end of the deckhouse. Aft of the funnels are the CO2-room to port and a deck locker to starboard.

Afterdeck:The Plimsoll towing winch is hydraulically driven and has one drum and a warping head. The winch is located between the funnels and has a pulling power of 30t at up to 15m/min and a holding power of 150t. This winch, which is primarily used on a Rotor®-tug, carries a 52mm steel wire, a 100mm synthetic fibre stretcher and a 48mm steel wire as pennant. A 65t towing hook is fixed to a bollard aft of the winch. A large towing fairlead is located on the afterdeck above the aft rudder propeller. The stern bulwark has an opening in which a small stern roller, L x Ø = 1,200 x 500mm, for anchor handling is mounted. From the inside it is hidden behind a flap.

Forecastle deck: It is raised approx. 1m above the afterdeck. The steps are at the end of the deckhouse. In front of the deckhouse an identical foreward towing winch is mounted. She carries a synthetic fibre rope at present. In front of the winch two electically driven Plimsoll anchor winches are placed.


Boat deck:

Foreward on starboard and port sides an inflatable liferaft for 6 persons each is mounted in a craddle. There is no boat. Aft of the funnels the two fire fighting monitors (one to starboard) are placed. A half high deck is placed in the middle. It contains the batterie room and store and carries the wheelhouse.


Wheelhouse deck:

The controls are fitted in two desks which are arranged longitudinal beside a sliding seat. Among them are separate Wartsilä (Niigata) control units for each rudder propellers and a master controller steering all propellers jointly. The navigational equipment contains magnet compass, gyro compass, autopilot, one radar, GPS, 2x echo sounder, and depth sounder. All but the three first-mentioned were supplied by Furuno. Communication equipment is to GMDSS-A2 standard and contains among others VHF, Navtex, Epirb, SART, Fax, and Intercom, supplied by a number of companies.


Navigation deck:
The mast, radar, magnet compass, two search lights, and antennas are located here. The mast has a hinged connection approx. 1.50m above deck and can be folded down. It carries only navigational lights and tagg lines.


Operations:

RT STEPHANIE stayed most of the time in Le Havre though not allowed to work. Meanwhile the RT CLAIRE worked in Rotterdam. Both started to work in Le Havre in October 2006 after seven years of legal battles. RT ZOE and RT ANTONIE went to work immediately after arrival in Hamburg and Bremerhaven.


-   Particulars

Specifications:
Length o.a.: 28,30m
Length waterline: 26,10m
Beam o.a.: 11,70m
Depth: 05,24m
Hull draught: 02,60m
Max. draught: 03,86m
Air draft: 11,00m with mast folded down
Displacement: 490t
Volume: 343 BRZ, 102 NRZ
Main engines: 3x Wartsilä 8L20 (Niigata 6L25) Diesel engines
Engine output: 3x 1340kW /1821PSe (1350kW /1835PSe) bei 1000U/min (750U/min)
Bollard pull foreward/astern: 70/ 68t
Speed: 12kts

Sources:
International Tug & Salvage September / October 2005,
Lekko International Nr. 155,
Website Kotug,
Website Kooren Shipbuilding and Trading



For photos in higher resolution please click the thumbnails!
- -
RT Claire in Rotterdam RT Antonie in Bremerhaven
RT Antonie in Bremerhaven RT Antonie in Bremerhaven
RT Antonie in Bremerhaven RT Zoe in Hamburg
RT Zoe: starboard view of superstructure RT Zoe: stern view of superstructure
RT Zoe: port view of superstructure RT Zoe: starboard view of wheelhouse
RT Zoe: port view of wheelhouse RT Zoe: bow view of wheelhouse
RT Zoe: fire fighting monitor RT Zoe: starboard view of mast
RT Zoe: stern view of mast RT Zoe: afterdeck
RT Zoe: aft towing winch RT Zoe: towing fairlead
RT Zoe: towing hook RT Zoe: emergency exit from rudder propeller room
RT Zoe: forecastle deck RT Zoe: foreward towing winch
RT Zoe: anchor winches RT Zoe: engine room
RT Zoe: main engine RT Zoe: port rudder propeller room
RT Zoe: fire fighting pump RT Zoe: starboard control panel
RT Zoe: unit and master controller RT Zoe: port control panel
RT Antonie: in the floating dock stern view RT Antonie: in the floating dock bow azimuth thrusters
- -

-   Die Rotor-Schlepper Typ RT 60

Im Januar 1999 nahmen die ersten Rotor -Schlepper, RT INNOVATION und drei Schwesterschiffe, ihre Arbeit in den Häfen von Bremerhaven und Rotterdam auf. Obwohl in der Fachpresse hoch gelobt, blieben Nachbauten für lange Zeit aus. Erst Ende März 2004 bestellte Kooren Shipbuilding and Trading (KST), der Entwickler und Vermarkter der Rotor-Schlepper, zwei Rotor-Schlepper des Typs RT-60 mit 60+ t Pfahlzug bei ASL Shipyard Pte Ltd (ASL) in Singapore. Eine Option für zwei weitere Schlepper des gleichen Typs wurden bald darauf in eine feste Bestellung umgewandelt. Die vier RT-60 erhielten folgende Namen:

RT CLAIRE
RT STEPHANIE
RT ANTONIE
RT ZOE

-   Projektphase

In den fünf Jahren seit der Indienststellung von RT INNOATION und ihren Schwestern sind die vier Schlepper auf Herz und Nieren geprüft worden. Dabei wurden sie auch in Einsatzbereichen getestet, für die sie ursprünglich nicht entworfen worden waren, wie Offshore- und Eskort-Schleppdienste. Diese Erfahrungen hat KST in die Weiterentwicklung der Rotor-Schlepper einfließen lassen und zwischenzeitlich Entwürfe für Rotor-Schlepper mit 45t, 60t und 75t Pfahlzug entwickelt. Der 60t Entwurf erfüllte die Anforderungen des Charterers der ersten beiden, neu bestellten Schlepper, Société Nouvelle de Remorquage du Havre (SNRH), für den Einsatz in Le Havre am Besten. Die Bestellung der ersten beiden Schlepper, RT CLAIRE und RT STEPHANIE, erfolgte Ende März 2004 bei ASL in Singapore. Die Ausführungsplanung (detailed design) wurde an Vuyk Kenton ebenfalls in Singapore vergeben. Ende Juli 2005 wurden beide Schlepper in Singapore getauft. Beide Schlepper wurden von Redwise nach Rotterdam überführt. RT STEPHANIE kam dort am 1.11.2005 an, RT CLAIRE nach einigen Assistenzarbeiten in Singapore am 15.12.2005. Die später bestellten RT ANTONIE und RT ZOE wurden am 8.03.2006 von ASL an den Auftraggeber KST übergeben und gemeinsam von Redwise nach Europa überführt. Bei einem Bunkeraufenthalt im Mittleren Osten wurde RT ZOE zur Unterstützung bei der Bergung der HYUNDAI FORTUNE gechartert. Am 3.04.2004 kollidierte die noch mit Redwise Überführungscrew fahrende RT ZOE mit dem Bug des Havaristen. Sie wurde daraufhin mit schwer beschädigtem Steuerhaus als Decksladung an ihren späteren Einsatzort Hamburg überführt, wo sie am 3.05.2006 an Bord der FAIRPARTNER ankam. Sie wurde bei Blohm & Voss repariert und in Hamburg in Dienst gestellt. RT ANTONIE verblieb zur Unterstützung der HYUNDAI FORTUNE im Golf von Aden, allerdings mit einer Kotug Crew. Sie erreichte Mitte Juli 2006 Bremerhaven, wo sie seitdem von Kotug eingesetzt wird. Im Folgenden werden an erster Stelle RT ANTONIE und RT ZOE beschrieben, da von ihnen Detailfotos vorliegen. Bei RT CLAIRE und RT STEPHANIE abweichende Daten werden in Klammern angehängt.


-   Beschreibung

Allgemein:Das Antriebkonzept der ersten Rotor-Schlepper ist unverändert geblieben. Die Schlepper sind Traktorschlepper mit zwei Ruderpropeller unter dem Bug, bei denen die Heckflosse durch einen dritten Ruderpropeller ersetzt ist. Die Antriebe sind jeweils durch Dockstützen geschützt. Die Ruderpropeller sind von Wartsilä/Lips vom Typ CS-200 (Niigata ZP-21). Die Verstellpropeller (Festpropeller mit Kupplung) von 2,10m (2,00m) Durchmesser laufen in Düsen. Angetrieben werden die Ruderpropeller von drei Wartsilä 8L20 (Niigata 6L25) Dieselmotoren mit je 1340kW / 1821PSe (1350kW / 1835PSe) bei 1000U/min (750U/min). Mit dieser Motorisierung erreichen die Schlepper Pfahlzüge von 70t vorwärts und 68t rückwärts sowie eine maximale Freifahrtgeschwindigkeit von 12kn. Die Bunkerkapazitäten betragen 128m3 Dieselöl, 42m3 Trinkwasser und 41m3 Ballastwasser. Die Reichweite beträgt bei Einsatz nur einer Maschine 4000sm. Beide Schlepper sind nach FiFi1 Standard (ohne Standard) mit zwei (einer) Fishcon Pumpen mit je 1200m3/h (1500m3/h) Leistung ausgerüstet, die an das hintere Motorende gekuppelt sind. Sie versorgen zwei (ein) Löschmonitore. Die Schlepper haben eine Selbstschutz-Sprühanlage mit einer Leistung von 300m3/h.


Unterhalb des Hauptdecks:

Der achtere Ruderpropeller ist in einem separaten Abschnitt untergebracht. Davor befindet sich der Maschinenraum mit den drei Hauptmaschinen, zwei Cummins Dieselgeneratoren mit 120kW Leistung und den Feuerlöschpumpen. Die Hauptmaschinen sind mit möglichst kurzen Wellen an die Ruderpropeller angekoppelt. Dadurch stehen die Hauptmaschinen nicht mehr nebeneinander, sondern gegeneinander längs versetzt. Vor dem Maschinenraum befindet sich der Raum für die vorderen Ruderpropeller. Davor befinden sich zwei Doppelkabinen mit dazwischen liegender Sanitärzelle.


Hauptdeck:



Aufbau: vorne sind auf diesem Deck zwei Einzelkabinen mit jeweils eigener Sanitärzelle für Kapitän und Chefingenieur vorhanden. Zusätzlich befinden sich hier die Kombüse, Messe, eine Toilette und ein Lager-/Mehrzweckraum mit Waschmaschinen und Umkleidebereich. Unterkünfte und Steuerhaus sind voll klimatisiert. Die Schornsteine sind an das achtere Ende des Aufbaus angesetzt. Dahinter sind an Backbord der CO2- Raum und an Steuerbord ein Lagerraum angeordnet.

Achterdeck: Die achtere Schleppwinde ist zwischen den Schornsteinen eingebaut. Die hydraulische Plimsoll-Winde hat eine Trommel mit einer Zugkraft 30t bei max. 15m/min und eine Haltekraft von 150t. Sie hat einen Spillkopf. Auf dieser Winde, die bei den Rotor-Schleppern bevorzugt genutzt wird, wird ein 52mm Stahldraht mit Kunstfaser-Recker und 48mm Stahldraht-Vorläufer gefahren. Hinter der Winde ist an einem Poller ein Schlepphaken mit einer zulässigen Last von 65t angeschlagen. Oberhalb des achteren Ruderpropellers ist der Schleppbock montiert. Im achteren Schanzkleid ist in einer Öffnung eine kleine Heckrolle, L x = 1200 x 500mm, für Ankerarbeiten eingebaut. Von innen ist die Rolle durch eine Klappe abgedeckt.

Vordeck: Es ist ca. 1m gegenüber dem Achterdeck angehoben. Die Übergangsstufen befinden sich am hinteren Ende des Aufbaus. Vor dem Aufbau ist die gleiche Schleppwinde wie achtern montiert. Sie ist derzeit allerdings mit einem Kunstfaser-Schleppseil belegt. Vor der Schleppwinde sind zwei elektrisch betriebene Plimsoll-Ankerwinden eingebaut.


Bootdeck:

Vorne ist je Seite eine Rettungsinsel für 6 Personen angeordnet. Es ist kein Boot vorhanden. Achtern sind hinter den Schornsteinen die zwei Feuerlöschmonitore (einer, an Stb) eingebaut. Im Mittelbereich ist ein nur ca. 1m hohes Deck angeordnet, das den Batterieraum sowie Stores beherbergt und das Steuerhaus trägt.


Brückendeck:

Zwei Bedienkonsolen sind links und rechts der Mittellinie im Steuerhaus angeordnet. Auf ihnen sind alle Bedienelemente untergebracht, wie u.a. die drei Steuerhebel für die drei Ruderpropeller und ein Master-Steuerhebel zur gemeinsamen Steuerung aller Antriebe. Zwischen den Konsolen ist ein schienengeführter Sitz eingebaut. Die Navigationsausrüstung beinhaltet Magnetkompass, Kreiselkompass, Autopilot, ein Radar, GPS, 2x Echolot, und Tiefenmesser. Bis auf die drei erstgenannten stammen die Geräte von Furuno. Die Kommunikationsausrüstung ist nach GMDSS-A2 Standard und enthält VHF, Navtex, Epirb, SART, Fax und Intercom.


Peildeck:
Hier sind der Mast, das Radargerät, der Magnetkompass, zwei Suchscheinwerfer und die Antennen untergebracht. Der Mast kann ca. 1,50m oberhalb des Decks umgeklappt werden und trägt nur Navigationsbeleuchtung und Flaggenleinen.


Einsatz:

RT STEPHANIE war die meiste Zeit in Le Havre, ohne dort arbeiten zu dürfen. Währenddessen arbeitete RT CLAIRE in Rotterdam. Beide konnten dann im Oktober 2006 endlich für SNRH an die Arbeit gehen, nachdem sich SNRH nach sieben Jahren rechtlicher Auseinandersetzungen die Erlaubnis gerichtlich erstritten hatte. RT ZOE und RT ANTONIE arbeiteten von Beginn an in Hamburg bzw. in Bremerhaven.


-   Abmessungen

Hauptabmessungen:
Länge ü.A.: 28,30m
Länge Wasserlinie: 26,10m
Breite ü.A.: 11,70m
Seitenhöhe: 05,24m
Tiefgang des Rumpfes: 02,60m
Tiefgang, maximal: 03,86m
Höhe über Wasserlinie: 11,00 m bei geklapptem Mast
Verdrängung: 490 t
Vermessung: 343 BRZ, 102 NRZ
Hauptmaschinen: 3x Wartsilä 8L20 (Niigata 6L25) Dieselmotoren
Leistung: 3x 1340kW /1821PSe (1350kW /1835PSe) bei 1000U/min (750U/min)
Pfahlzug, vorw./rückw.: 70/ 68t
Geschwindigkeit: 12kn

Quellen:
International Tug & Salvage September / Oktober 2005,
Lekko International Nr. 155,
Website Kotug,
Website Kooren Shipbuilding and Trading



Für Vergrößerungen der Bilder bitte auf die Miniaturen klicken!
- -
RT Claire in Rotterdam RT Antonie in Bremerhaven
RT Antonie in Bremerhaven RT Antonie in Bremerhaven
RT Antonie in Bremerhaven RT Zoe in Hamburg
RT Zoe: Stb-Seite Aufbau RT Zoe: Heckansicht Aufbau
RT Zoe: Bb-Seite Aufbau RT Zoe: Stb-Seite Steuerhaus
RT Zoe: Bb-Seite Steuerhaus RT Zoe: Bugansicht Steuerhaus
RT Zoe: Feuerlöschmonitor RT Zoe: Stb-Ansicht Mast
RT Zoe: Heckansicht Mast RT Zoe: Achterdeck
RT Zoe: achtere Schleppwinde RT Zoe: Schleppbock
RT Zoe: Schlepphaken RT Zoe: Notausstieg Ruderpropellerraum
RT Zoe: Vordeck RT Zoe: Bugschleppwinde
RT Zoe: Ankerwinden RT Zoe: Maschinenraum
RT Zoe: Hauptmaschine RT Zoe: Bb-Ruderpropeller
RT Zoe: Feuerlöschpumpe RT Zoe: Stb-Konsole
RT Zoe: Unit- und Mastercontroller RT Zoe: Bb-Steuerkonsole
RT Antonie: im Dock Heckansicht RT Antonie: im Dock Bugpropeller
- -