-   Oceanic

She is one of the best known deep sea tugs in Germany. She even earned herself a good name internationally. She is built by many model makers. Models are available as kits from a number of companies. I am talking about that grand old lady, OCEANIC. She was built for and managed by "Bugsier-, Reederei- und Bergungsgesellschaft m.b.H.&Co.KG". Despite her being more than 35 years old, she is still employed in the trade she was built for. The following tells her story.

OCEANIC

-   Development

Salvage work made up a large part of the earnings of deep sea and salvage tugs until the 1960s. Therefore the power of the tugs developed according to the size of the ships. Oil transport from the Arabian Gulf to Europe, through the Suez Canal, was carried out by oil tankers of up to 30.000 tonnes dead weight until the late 1950s. The Suez Canal was closed for the first time in 1956 and shipping was forced to go around Africa on a route which is about 5,000 nm longer. The size of ships grew rapidly to make up for the higher costs. By the time the Suez Canal had closed a second time in 1967, the load capacity of tankers had grown to more than 200,000 tdw. The "Bugsier-, Reederei- und Bergungsgesellschaft m.b.H.&Co.KG" had already reacted to this development when their tug the PACIFIC, with 72 tonnes bollard pull (tbp), entered service in 1963. In 1967 Bugsier ordered two more tugs, the OCEANIC and the ARCTIC, with more than twice the bollard pull, in anticipation of the ongoing increase of load capacity (470,000 tdw was exceeded in 1973) as well as in the offshore business.


-   History

Both tugs were built at the F.Schichau GmbH shipyard in Bremerhaven. The OCEANIC was handed to Bugsier Reederei on 6 June 1969 and the ARCTIC on 30 December 1969. The hulls of these tugs were optimised, during costly tank tests, for use as salvage tugs in bad weather conditions. When built, both tugs were the strongest and largest in the world, with a volume of 2.294 gross tons (grt) and 150 tonnes bollard pull (tbp). This changed when Smit International brought the SMIT ROTTERDAM into service. Schichau reworked the tugs with fixed nozzles in 1975, increasing the bollard pull to 160 tonnes. The main engines had run for 80,000 hours by 1985 and were needing increasing maintenance. Bugsier decided to equip the tugs with new engines instead of building new tugs, as the tugs were in good condition otherwise. In consideration of the decreasing towing business this seemed the more economic solution. The increased bollard pull of 189 tonnes required a larger diameter towing wire and a strengtheed towing winch. Offshore supply ships slowly developed into multifunctional vessels with a towing ability that had to be considered. Looking at the German offshore vessels, 100 tbp was reached at the end of the 1970s. The same was true for the fleets of the oil-producing countries. German and Dutch tugs had dominated the offshore towing business for a long time. Now that offshore supply vessels entered the towing market, the prices fell. Some of the oil-producing countries helped this development by requesting not to use foreign tugs except when their own vessels were not available. The salvage business has decreased rapidly, to some extent because of the technical development of ships. Tugs waiting on station for salvage jobs are no longer justified for economical reasons. From 1987 to 1990, the ARCTIC and OCEANIC were laid-up for increasing periods between jobs and were finally mothballed in 1990. ARCTIC was sold in 1993 and rebuilt as a luxury yacht. OCEANIC returned to service in 1996 and is on charter to the Federal Republic of Germany as "Emergency Towing Vessel North Sea". However, she is running out of time and a tender for a new "Emergency Towing Vessel North Sea" is expected in 2006. Then the life of the OCEANIC will end around 2007-2008, as she might be unable to fulfil the requirements of the specification.


-   Operations

Both tugs were on salvage station in Kapstadt between towing jobs. A number of salvages were made during this time. A special job for ARCTIC was the refloating of the cruise vessel LINDBLAD EXPLORER which ran aground on King George Island in the depths of the Antarctic. Two fully laden tankers, the ATLANTIK EMPRESS (292,666 tdw) and the AEGEAN CAPTAIN (210,257 tdw) collided 10 nm off Tobago in July 1979 and burst into flames. The fire on the forecastle of AEGEAN CAPTAIN was put out. OCEANIC towed the tanker with its load to Curacao were it was handed back to the owners. The ATLANTIK EMPRESS burned out completely and 29 crew members lost their lives. The ATLANTIK EMPRESS was lost despite the utilisation of four salvage tugs from Bugsier and Smit. These four tugs were able to tow the damaged ship 300 nm from the coast, preventing catastrophic pollution of the beaches. Both OCEANIC and ARCTIC, were employed in the offshore towing business too. Here are some examples:

- ARCTIC towed the drilling platform ILE DE FRANCE from Madagaskar to Gabun in 1972.
- OCEANIC and ARCTIC took part with other tugs in the towage of Condeep-platforms like CORMORANT A (1977, 400,000 tonnes), STATFJORD C (1984, 760,000 tonnes) and EKOFISK PROTECTIVE BARRIER (1989).
- OCEANIC made three towing voyages from Japan to Europe with the drilling platform HENRY GOODRICH (1985), the crane ship DLB102 (helped by ARCTIC in 1986) and the drilling platform DYVI ALPHA following the installation of new motors.

As an Emergency Towing Vessel for the German authorities, OCEANIC made a number of salvages, some of which were: 60,000 tdw bulk carrier RUBY XL off Terschelling (1998), 44,000 tdw bulk carrier LUCKY FORTUNE in gale-force wind 9 nm west of Sylt, 25,700 tdw ALIANCA SAO PAOLO in the mouth of the river Elbe.


-   Specification

Classification: GL-100 A4 E3 tug (Construction exceeding GL-requirements by at least 30%) Length o.a.: 87,58 m; length between perpendiculars (Lpp): 78,00 m; breadth moulded: 14,35 m; max breadth: 14,95 m Draught (at mid Lpp): 6.31 m; max. draught (aft): 7.30m; depth (at mid Lpp): 7.30 m Volume: 2,294 gross tons, displacement: appr.. 5,000 tonnes
Main Engines 1969 : 2 x 16 zyl. K.H.D. Diesel motors Typ RBV 16M 540 of 6,405 bhp each
Main Engines 1985 : 2 x 12 zyl. K.H.D. Diesel motors Typ SBV 12M 640 of 6,600 bhp each
Propeller: 2 x Zeise-Liaanen controllable-pitch propellers
Bow Thruster: 600 hp with 6.5 tonnes thrust, Rudders: 1 rudder; when Kort nozzles were fitted one additional rudder was fitted behind each propeller.
Bollard Pull 1969: 150 tonnes
Bollard Pull 1985: 189 tonnes,
Bollard Pull 2005: 178 tonnes,
Speed when built: 20.5 kts, Speed 2005: 17 kts Fuel tanks: 1,400 tonnes, Range: appr. 20,000 nm, Purification of drinking water: 15 tonnes/day
Crew of 26 to 28 men when in towing and salvage business, crew of 13 with an additional boarding team of 4 men as Emergency Towing Vessel since 1996.
Towing winches: friction type with 2 x 2,000 m steel wire of 61 mm diameter (1969), After 1985: 2 x 1.800 m steel wire of 68 mm diameter
Towing winches: 2 x 80 tonnes brake force,
Anchor winch and mooring capstans: 2 x 40 tonnes brake force
Boats: 2 motorized work boats, 1 rigid inflatable MOB boat (Man Over Board boat) Fire fighting equipment: 3 fire monitors with a total capacity of 700 m³/hr; Searchlights: 2 x 3,000 Watts Loading gear: 1 boom with 15/20 t capacity, 4 booms with 3 t capacity. 1985 replaced with a 3 t hydraulic crane
Equipped as salvage tug with fully equipped workshops

Sources:

Mordhorst: Schlepper / Havarie / Versorger auf See
Schnake: Geschichte der Schleppschifffahrt, Bugsier Reederei
Clasen: Durch Sturm, Feuer und Eis / Zwischen Tropen und Eismeer
Schwabedissen: Gestrandet, Schiffsunglücke vor der Nordseeküste
de Haas: Zeeslepen onder de driekleur, 1945 - 1980





For photos in higher resolution please click the thumbnails!

- -
at Cuxhaven deckshouse starbord-side
downfall port-side port-side bridgewing
capstan view aft
helmstand facing aft helmstand bridge
view to helmstand with stern mast fore mast
starbord anchor working boat
port-side working forecastle deck with anchorwinch
view to maindeck liferafts
FiFi-monitor engineroom
downfall from forecastle deck Norman Pins
- -

-   Oceanic

Sie ist wohl der bekannteste Hochseeschlepper in Deutschland. Auch international hat sie sich einen sehr guten Ruf erworben. Sie wurde bisher in unzähligen Modellwerften nachgebaut. Auch als Bausatz war sie über die Jahre bei verschiedenen Modellbaufirmen erhältlich. Die Rede ist von der "großen alten Dame" OCEANIC. Für die Bugsier Reederei gebaut und von ihr auch bereedert ist sie trotz ihres Alters immer noch in Fahrt. In diesem Artikel wird der Lebenslauf und die Leistungen der Oceanic beschrieben.

-   Vorgeschichte

Bis in die 1960iger Jahre hatten Schiffsbergungen einen großen Anteil an der Auslastung von Hochseeschleppern. Dem entsprechend war die Leistung der Schlepper den Schiffsgrößen angepasst. Bis Ende der 1950iger Jahre wurden Öltransporte aus dem Persischen Golf nach Europa mit Tankern von meist nicht mehr als 30.000 t Tragfähigkeit ( tdw ) durch den Suez-Kanal durchgeführt. Die erste Schließung des Suez-Kanals 1956 erzwang nun die Umrundung Afrikas und damit einen um 5.000 sm längeren Seeweg. Dies löste eine Explosion der Schiffsgrößen aus. 1967, zur zweiten Schließung des Suez-Kanals, hatte die Tragfähigkeit bereits die 200.000 tdw Marke überschritten. Hatte die Bugsier Reederei- und Bergungs-Gesellschaft m.b.H. auf diese Entwicklung bereits 1963 mit der Indienststellung des Schleppers PACIFIC (72 t Pfahlzug) reagiert, so bestellte sie 1967 in Anbetracht der erwarteten Tonnageentwicklung (1973 wurden 470.000 tdw überschritten) und angesichts des sich entwickelnden Offshore-Geschäftes zwei mehr als doppelt so starke Schlepper, die OCEANIC und die ARCTIC.


-   Lebenslauf

Die Bauwerft, F. Schichau GmbH in Bremerhaven, lieferte die OCEANIC am 6.Juni 1969 und die ARCTIC 30.Dezember 1969 an die Bugsier Reederei ab. Vorausgegangen waren während der Entwurfsphase aufwändige Modellversuche, um die Rumpfform für den Einsatz als Bergungsschlepper in schlechtesten Wetter- und Seebedingungen zu optimieren. Die beiden Schlepper waren mit einer Vermessung von 2294 Grt und einem Pfahlzug von 150 t die stärksten Schlepper der Welt bis 1975 Smit die Smit Rotterdam in Fahrt brachte. Ebenfalls im Jahr 1975 erhielten beide Schlepper bei Schichau Kortdüsen für ihre Propeller. Der Pfahlzug erhöhte sich auf 160t. 1985 hatten die Hauptmaschinen eine Laufleistung von ca. 80.000 Stunden erreicht und wurden reparaturanfälliger. Bugsier entschloss sich wegen des guten Allgemeinzustandes der Schlepper zu einer Neumotorisierung anstelle von Neubauten. Dies war angesichts des nachlassenden Schleppgeschäfts die wirtschaftlichere Lösung. Da sich der Pfahlzug auf 189t erhöhte, mussten stärkere Schleppseile gefahren und die Windenanlage entsprechend angepasst werden. Im Laufe der Jahre entwickelten sich die ursprünglich reinen Bohrinselversorger immer mehr in Richtung zu Multifunktionsschiffen mit auch beachtlicher Schleppkapazität. Betrachtet man die deutsche Versorgerflotte, so waren dort Ende der 1970iger Jahre Pfahlzüge von über 100t erreicht. Für die Flotten der Ölförderstaaten galt dies genauso. Hatten bisher die Niederlande und Deutschland das Offshore-Schleppgeschäft in Europa beherrscht, so drückten jetzt zusätzlich die Schleppversorger in den Schleppmarkt und ließen die Preise sinken. Die Ölförderstaaten unterstützten diese Entwicklung zum Teil durch die Forderung, ausländische Schlepper nur dann zu beschäftigen, wenn kein Schiff eigener Flagge zur Verfügung stand. Auch das Bergungsgeschäft war wegen der technischen Weiterentwicklung so stark rückläufig, dass Stationsschlepper wirtschaftlich nicht mehr vertretbar waren. Als Folge wurden OCEANIC und ARCTIC zwischen 1987 und 1990 immer wieder zwischen Jobs längere Zeit aufgelegt und ab 1990 eingemottet. ARCTIC wurde 1993 verkauft und zur Luxusyacht umgebaut. Sie ist noch in Fahrt. OCEANIC wurde 1996 entmottet und fährt seitdem in Charter der Bundesrepublik Deutschland als Notfallschlepper in der Nordsee. Aber auch diese Zeit wird in wenigen Jahren zu Ende gehen. Im Laufe des Jahres 2006 soll die Ausschreibung für einen neuen "Notfallschlepper Nordsee" auf den Markt kommen. 2007/2008 wird dann vermutlich die Ära OCEANIC zu Ende gehen, da sie die Spezifikation vermutlich nicht wird erfüllen können.


-   wichtige Einsätze

Beide Schlepper haben zeitweilig zwischen den Schleppaufträgen auf Bergungsstation in Kapstadt gelegen. In dieser Zeit sind eine Anzahl von Bergungen durchgeführt worden. Etwas Besonderes war dabei das Freischleppen des Passagierschiff LINDBLAD EXPLORER, das auf King George Island in der Abgeschiedenheit der Antarktis auf Grund gelaufen war (1972). Im Juli 1979 kollidierten ca. 10 sm vor Tobago die beiden voll beladenen Tanker ATLANTIK EMPRESS (292.666 tdw) und AEGEAN CAPTAIN (210.257 tdw) und gerieten in Brand. Das Feuer auf dem Vorschiff der Tanker AEGEAN CAPTAIN konnte gelöscht und der Tanker von OCEANIC nach Curacao geschleppt und mit Ladung an die Eigner zurückgegeben werden. Die Tanker ATLANTIK EMPRESS geriet vollständig in Brand. 29 Besatzungsmitglieder kamen ums Leben. Trotz des Einsatzes von vier Bergungsschleppern von Bugsier und Smit ging die ATLANTIK EMPRESS verloren. Sie konnte nur ca. 300 sm auf See geschleppt werden, so dass eine Ölpest an Land verhindert werden konnte. Auch im Offshore-Geschäft waren OCEANIC und ARCTIC gut beschäftigt, hier eine Auswahl:
OCEANIC verschleppt die Bohrinsel ILE DE FRANCE von Madagaskar nach Gabun (1972),
OCEANIC und ARCTIC sind beteiligt bei:

- CORMORANT A (1977, 400.000 t)
- STATFJORD C (1984, 760.000 t)
- EKOFISK PROTECTIVE BARRIER (1989)

Nach der Neumotorisierung führt OCEANIC drei Schleppreisen von Japan nach Europa mit der Bohrplattform HENRY GOODRICH (1985), dem Kranschiff DLB102 (1986 mit Unterstützung durch ARCTIC) und der Bohrplattform DYVI ALPHA durch. Im Auftrag des Bundes als Notfallschlepper Nordsee gab es unter anderem diese Einsätze: 60.000 tdw Bulker RUBY XL vor Terschellung (1998), 44.000 tdw Bulker LUCKY FORTUNE in Orkan 9 sm westl. Sylt, 25.700 Grt Frachter ALIANCA SAO PAOLO in Elbmündung (2005).


-   technische Daten

Klassifizierung: GL-100 A4 E3 Schlepper (Ausführung erfolgt 30% über GL-Anforderungen) Länge ü.A.: 87,58 m; Länge zw. L.: 78,00 m; Breite auf Spant:: 14,35 m; max. Breite: 14,95 m Tiefgang Mitte Schiff: 6,31 m; max. Tiefgang (achtern): 7,30m; Seitenhöhe (Mitte): 7,30 m Vermessung: 2.294 Grt, Verdrängung: ca. 5.000 t
Antrieb 1969 : 2 x 16 zyl. K.H.D. Dieselmotoren Typ RBV 16M 540 mit je 6.405 PSe
Antrieb 1985 : 2 x 12 zyl. K.H.D. Dieselmotoren Typ SBV 12M 640 mit je 6.600 PSe
Propeller: 2 x Zeise-Liaanen Verstellpropeller Bugstrahlruder: 600 PS mit 6,5 t Schub,
Ruder: 1 Stück, beim Einbau der Kortdüsen wird vor jedem Propeller 1 zusätzliches Ruder eingebaut
Pfahlzug 1969: 150 t,
Pfahlzug 1985: 189 t,
Pfahlzug 2005: 178 t,
Geschwindigkeit: 20,5 kn Bunkerkapazität: 1.400 t, Aktionsradius: ca. 20.000 sm, Trinkwasseraufbereitung: 15 t/Tag
Besatzung: 26 bis 28 Mann
Schleppwinden: Reibungstyp mit 2 x 2.000 m Stahldraht mit 61 mm Durchmesser (1969),
nach 1985: 2 x 1.800 m Stahldraht mit 68mm Durchmesser
Beistopperwinde: 2 x 80 t Bremskraft
Anker- und Verholspills: 2 x 40 t Bremskraft
Boote: 2 motorisierte Arbeitsboote, 1 halbstarres Schlauchboot; Feuerlöschausrüstung: 3 Monitore mit insgesamt 700 m³ je Stunde; Scheinwerfer: 2 x 3.000 Watt; Ladegeschirr: 1 Schwerlastbaum mit 15/20 t, 4 Ladebäume mit 3 t. 1985 ersetzt durch einen 3 t Hydraulikkran.
Ausrüstung als Bergungsschlepper mit voller Werkstattausrüstung

Quellen:

Mordhorst: Schlepper / Havarie / Versorger auf See
Schnake: Geschichte der Schleppschifffahrt, Bugsier Reederei
Clasen: Durch Sturm, Feuer und Eis / Zwischen Tropen und Eismeer
Schwabedissen: Gestrandet, Schiffsunglücke vor der Nordseeküste
de Haas: Zeeslepen onder de driekleur, 1945 - 1980




Für Vergrößerungen der Bilder bitte auf die Miniaturen klicken!
- -
Einlaufen in Cuxhaven Aufbau Stb-Seite
Niedergang Bb-Seite Bb-Brückennock
Beistopperwinden Blick nach achtern
Achterer Fahrstand Fahrstand Brücke
Ansicht des Fahrstandes am achteren Mast Vormast
Stb-Anker Arbeitsboot
Bb-Arbeitsboot erhöhte Back mit Ankerwinde
Blick auf das Hauptdeck Rettungsinselaufnahme vor dem Umbau
Löschmonitor Maschinenraum
Niedergang von der Back Rollenblöcke mit Norman Pins
- -