-   The FAIRPLAY tugboats

The economic liberalzation in the European Union brought dutch habour tugs to Hamburg in the beginning of 1996. The following "Hamburg tug war" was triggered by the low prices made possible among other things by the 40 per cent wage subsidies payed by the dutch government. The "tug war" ended in 2002 when the European Commission ruled that the subsidies were illegal and had to be repaid. The "Fairplay Schleppdampfschiffs-Reederei Richard Borchard GmbH" in Hamburg soon had seen the liberalization not only as threat but also as opportunity. They founded the "Fairplay Towage BV" in Rotterdam in 1997 and ordered four tugs with an option for two more in Spain for use in Rotterdam in 1996:

FAIRPLAY 21
FAIRPLAY 22
FAIRPLAY 23
FAIRPLAY 24

-   Construction period

The four tugs were built at the shipyard Construcciones Navales Santodomingo in Vigo to a design of Aarts Marine BV in Amsterdam. The delivery of the first tug was planned for June 1997 but was delayed because of financial difficulties of the shipyard until February 1998. Afterwards the shipyard went bankrupt and FAIRPLAY 25 and 26 were buit at Astilleros Zamakona. Altogether Fairplay invested about 19 Mio. for the six new tugs. Before this order for new tugs all Fairplay Schottel-Rudderpropeller tugs were tractor tugs with the propulsion units beneath the bow. The new tugs were built as Azimuth Stern Drive (ASD) tugs as they are not only meant for habour work but also for deep sea towage, escorting, terminal handling, and offshore work. Each of the four tugs has two Deutz-MWM SBA 8M 628 main diesel engines with 2,250bhp (1,646kW) at 1,000rpm each. The motors are coupled to Schottel rudderpropellers type SRP 1212 with fixed pitch propellers of 2.30 m diameter in Kort nozzles. The tugs have bulbous bows and Schottel STT bow thrusters with a thrust of 2.8tonnes (t). The tugs have a maximum speed of 13.5kts and a bollard pull of 52t. The bunker capacity of 220m3 gives the tugs a range of approx. 18 days. The tugs are prepared for installation of fire fighting equipment to FiFi1 standard at a later date. FAIRPLAY 25 und 26 were delivered in 2000. They differ from their predecessors mainly by having approx. 1,000bhp more engine output leading to a 15t higher bollard pull. They are equipped to FiFi1 standards.


-   Description
Main deck aft:

This is the working/towing deck. It is fitted with offshore-type cargo rails, providing a relatively safe area between rails and bulwarks. The hydraulic towing winch is a Brattvaag SL50-1T type. The winch has a split drum carrying 1,400m x 46mm steel wire on the deep sea drum and 110m x 46mm steel wire + 20m x 96mm fibre rope as stretcher + 20m x 46mm steel wire as pendant on the habour drum. The winch is fitted with tension control and has a pull of 50t at 16,5m/min and a brake force of 128t. To starbord a rope reel with a spare towing wire 1,400m x 46mm is located. A triple-pole towing bitt is fitted in front of the winch. The middle pole can be moved horizontally, to guide either the habour or deep sea wire. A Seebeck towing hook with 55t safe working load (swl.) is fitted for emergency use only. Two towing pins are fitted in the aft bulwark.


Main deck, foreward:

Here part of the accommodation is located: three double-berth cabins, accompanying sanitary space, galley, mess room, and storage rooms.


Forecastle deck:

It is located directly above the main deck. A hydraulic combined Brattvaag anchor and towing winch is fitted at the bow. This winch is used only in habour work so it has only a habour drum with the same specification as the winch on the towing deck. The deck house houses the two single-berth cabins of the master and chief. There is a third cabin which is described as hospital on the general arrangement drawing. The man-over-board (m.o.b.) boat and its Palfinger Marine launching crane are located at the aft end at the port side.


Bridge deck:

It is located approx. 1 m above the deck house roof. This additional space is used as battery and ventilation rooms. Two life rafts are fitted next to these rooms, one to starboard and one to port side. A U-shaped control desk is located at the foreward bulkhead of the wheelhouse. It houses a complete set of controls. A second control desk is fitted starboard aft in the wheelhouse with an unobstructed view of the towing deck. Motors, rudderpropellers, bow thruster and aft winch can be controlled from here. The communications desk is located on the port side aft. The safety equipment is according to the GMDSS A2 (Global Maritime Distress and Safety System Area 2)and contains Global System for Mobile communications (GSM) mobile phone, Inmersat-C phone and fax. Part of the eletronics are two Racal-Decca radar systems, autopilot, echosounder, electronic chart system, satellite navigation, and gyro compass.


Top deck:

The deck is divided in two parts. Part 1 is the roof of the wheelhouse with searchlights and the magnetic compass. Part 2 is a bridge between the two funnels. It carries the mast and one radar system. Two fire monitors may be installed here when necessary.


Crew:

In habour work the tugs have a crew of three, in offshore work a crew of six people. Accommodation is provided for eight people.


-   Operations

The four tugs were used in Rotterdam from the beginning. FAIRPLAY 21 und 24 were handed to Smit Harbour Towage in long-term bare-boat charter soon after their arrival in Rotterdam. They are used in ship assistance in Europoort. FAIRPLAY 22 und 23 are stationed in Europoort too but are often used in offshore work and deep sea towage additionally. When Fairplay chartered-in FAIRPLAY 27 for use in Rotterdam, FAIRPLAY 22 was transfered to Hamburg in April 2006.


-   Particulars

Classification Germanischer Lloyd: + 100 A5 E1 M Tug + MC E1 Aut
Length o.a.: 34,75 m
Length between perpendiculars: 32,50 m
Breadth, moulded: 10,80 m
Draught (min/max): 04,60 m/5,00 m
Depth: 05,70 m
Volume: 496 gross tons
Load capacity: 310 tdw
Displacement: 650 t
Performance: 2 x 1.646 kW (2 x 2.250 PSe)
Speed: 13,5 kn
Bollard pull: 52 t

Sources:
Reed's Tug World Review 1997/1998,
Website von Fairplay,
Lekko International 110



For photos in higher resolution please click the thumbnails!
- -
Fairplay 23 Fairplay 23
Fairplay 23: in Cuxhaven Fairplay 23: in action
Fairplay 24 Fairplay 24
Fairplay 24: ..berthing Fairplay 24: ..back from the job
Fairplay 24 Fairplay 24
Fairplay 24: bow view Fairplay 24: stern view
Fairplay 21 und 24 Fairplay 24
Fairplay 21 und 24: stern view in the Scheurhaven Fairplay 24: bow
Fairplay 24 Fairplay 24
Fairplay 24: port view superstructure Fairplay 24: port view bridge
Fairplay 21 und 24 Fairplay 21
Fairplay 21 und 24: bridges Fairplay 21: bow view bridge
Fairplay 24 Fairplay 24
Fairplay 24: bow view bridge Fairplay 24: stairs to the bridge with life raft
Fairplay 23 Fairplay 23
Fairplay 23: stern view superstructure with winch Fairplay 23: stern view bridge and mast
Fairplay 23 Fairplay 24
Fairplay 23: stern view bridge and mast Fairplay 24: bow view mast
Fairplay 23 Fairplay 24
Fairplay 23: stern view bridge Fairplay 24: work boat with davit
Fairplay 23 Fairplay 23
Fairplay 23: aft deck with pins Fairplay 23: aft deck with winches
Fairplay 23 Fairplay 24
Fairplay 23: towing winch with towing staple Fairplay 24: storage winch
Fairplay 24 Fairplay 21 und 24
Fairplay 24: bow winch Fairplay 21 und 24: ..in the Scheurhaven
- -

-   Die FAIRPLAY Schlepper

Die wirtschaftliche Liberalisierung der Europäischen Union brachte Anfang 1996 holländische Hafenschlepper nach Hamburg. Der folgende Hamburger "Schlepperkrieg" wurde durch deren Niedrigpreise ausgelöst. Sie wurden unter anderem durch 40%ige Lohnsubventionen der holländischen Regierung möglich. Der "Schlepperkrieg" wurde erst 2002 durch das Urteil der EU-Kommission beendet, dass die Subventionen illegal und zurückzuzahlen seien. Die "Fairplay Schleppdampfschiffs-Reederei Richard Borchard GmbH" in Hamburg hat die Liberalisierung schnell nicht nur als Bedrohung sondern auch als Chance gesehen. So gründete man 1997 in Rotterdam die "Fairplay Towage BV" und bestellte 1996 vier Schlepper mit einer Option auf zwei weitere in Spanien für den Einsatz in Rotterdam:

FAIRPLAY 21
FAIRPLAY 22
FAIRPLAY 23
FAIRPLAY 24

-   Projektabwicklung

Die vier Schlepper wurden von der Werft Construcciones Navales Santodomingo in Vigo nach einem Entwurf von Aarts Marine BV, Amsterdam, gebaut. Die Auslieferung der Schlepper sollte im Juni 1997 beginnen, verzögerte sich aber wegen finanzieller Schwierigkeiten der Bauwerft bis in den Februar 1998. FAIRPLAY 25 und 26 wurden wegen Insolvenz der Werft später bei Astilleros Zamakona gebaut. Insgesamt hat Fairplay 55 Mio DM (ca. 28,2 Mio. ) für die sechs neuen Schlepper investiert. Bis dato waren alle Fairplay Schottel-Schlepper Traktor-Schlepper mit dem Antrieb unter dem Bug. Um die neuen Schlepper auch für Seeverschleppungen, Escort-Schleppdienste, Terminaldienste und Offshorearbeiten einsetzen zu können, wurden die neuen Schlepper mit Schottel-Ruderpropellern unter dem Heck ausgerüstet. Die vier Schlepper werden von je zwei Deutz-MWM SBA 8M 628 Dieselmotoren mit 2.250 PSe (1.646 kW) bei 1.000 U/min angetrieben. Die Motoren wirken auf Schottel-Ruderpropeller SRP 1212 mit Festpropellern mit 2,30m Durchmesser in Kortdüsen. Die Schlepper sind mit einem Wulstbug und einem Schottel STT Bugstrahlruder mit 2,8t Schub ausgestattet. Die Schlepper haben eine maximale Geschwindigkeit von 13,5kn und einen Pfahlzug von 52t. Die Bunkerkapazität von ca. 220m3 verleiht den Schleppern einen Aktionsradius von ca. 18 Tagen. Die Schlepper sind für einen nachträglichen Einbau einer Feuerlöscheinrichtung nach FiFi1 Standard vorbereitet. Die im Jahr 2000 abgelieferten FAIRPLAY 25 und 26 unterscheiden sich von ihren Vorgängern hauptsächlich durch eine um 1.000 PSe höhere Maschinenleistung und 15t höheren Pfahlzug sowie eine Feuerlöscheinrichtung nach FiFi1 Standard.


-   Beschreibung
Hauptdeck, achtern:

Das Arbeits-/Schleppdeck wird seitlich durch Cargo Rails begrenzt, so dass zwischen ihnen und dem Schanzkleid eine Sicherheitszone entsteht. Am Übergang zum Aufbau ist die hydraulisch angetriebene Schleppwinde vom Typ Brattvaag SL50-1T aufgestellt. Die Winde hat eine geteilte Trommel, mit 1.400m x 46mm Stahldraht auf der Schlepptrommel und 110m x 46mm Stahldraht + 20m x 96mm Kunstfaserseil als Recker + 20m x 46mm Draht-Stander auf der Hafentrommel. Die Winde hat eine Zugkraftkontrolle, eine Zugkraft von 50t bei 16,5m/min und eine Bremskraft von 128t. Auf der Steuerbordseite ist eine Speicherwinde mit 1.400m x 46mm Reservedraht vorgesehen. Vor der Schleppwinde ist ein Schleppbock mit drei Pfosten eingebaut. Der mittlere Pfosten kann seitlich verschoben werden, um jeweils der Hafen- oder Schlepptrommel als Führung angepasst werden zu können. Für Notfälle ist ein Seebeck Schlepphaken mit 55t zulässiger Last (safe working load, swl.) vorhanden. Auf dem achteren Schanzkleid sind jeweils an Backbord und Steuerbord Schlepp-Pins vorgesehen.


Hauptdeck, vorne:

Hier sind drei 2-Mann Kabinen, zugehörige Sanitärräume, Galley, Messe und Lagerräume angeordnet.


Vordeck:

Es liegt oberhalb des Hauptdecks. Am Bug ist eine hydraulisch betriebene kombinierte Anker- und Schleppwinde vorgesehen. Da aber nur im Hafenbetrieb über den Bug geschleppt wird, hat die Winde nur die Hafentrommel erhalten. Diese hat die gleiche Spezifikation wie die Hafentrommel der Schleppwinde auf dem Schleppdeck. Das Deckshaus beherbergt die beiden Einzelkabinen von Kapitän und leitendem Ingenieur. Eine weitere Kabine ist im Generalplan als Krankenstation bezeichnet. An Backbord ist achtern das MOB-Boot mit seinem Palfinger Marine Kran installiert.


Brückendeck:

Diese Deck liegt ca. 1 m oberhalb der Decke des Deckshauses. Der so entstehende Zwischenraum wird vom Batterie- und vom Lüftungsraum eingenommen. Neben diesen Räumen ist an Backbord und Steuerbord je eine Rettungsinsel angeordnet. Im Steuerhaus ist zum Bug hin eine U-förmige Steuerkonsole eingebaut, die die kompletten Steuerelemente enthält. Steuerbord achtern ist eine weitere Steuerkonsole mit freiem Blick auf das Schleppdeck angeordnet. Sie enthält die Steuerelemente für Motoren, Ruderpropeller, Bugstrahlruder und Winden. Backbord achtern ist die Konsole mit der Kommunikationsausrüstung angeordnet. Die Sicherheitsausrüstung entspricht dem GMDSS A2 (Global Maritime Distress and Safety System Area 2)und enthält Global System for Mobile communications (GSM) Mobiltelefon, Inmersat-C Satellitentelefon und Fax. Zur elektronischen Ausrüstung gehören zwei Racal-Decca Radarsysteme, Autopilot, Echolot, elektronischer Seekarte, Satellitennavigation und Kreiselkompass.


Topdeck:

Das Deck ist zweigeteilt. Der eine Teil ist das Dach des Steuerhauses mit Suchscheinwerfern und Magnetkompass, der zweite Teil verbindet als Brücke die beiden seitlichen Abgaspfosten. Sie trägt den Mast und ein Radargerät. Hier können bei Bedarf Feuerlöschmonitore installiert werden.


Besatzung:

Im Hafen fahren die Schlepper mit einer Besatzung von drei Mann, im Offshore-Geschäft mit sechs Mann. Es gibt Unterbringungsmöglichkeiten für insgesamt acht Mann.


-   Einsätze

Die vier Schlepper wurden von Beginn an in Rotterdam eingesetzt. FAIRPLAY 21 und 24 wurden schon bald als Bare-Boat, das heißt ohne Besatzung, langfristig an Smit Harbour Towage verchartert und im Europoort als Assistenzschlepper eingesetzt. FAIRPLAY 22 und 23 sind ebenfalls im Europoort stationiert, werden aber auch im Offshoregeschäft und bei Seeverschleppungen beschäftigt. Mit dem Einchartern der FAIRPLAY 27 für Rotterdam ist die FAIRPLAY 22 im April 2006 nach Hamburg verlegt worden.


-   Hauptabmessungen und Leistungen

Klassifizierung Germanischer Lloyd: + 100 A5 E1 M Schlepper + MC E1 Aut
Länge ü.A.: 34,75 m
Länge zw. Loten: 32,50 m
Breite auf Spanten: 10,80 m
Tiefgang (min/max): 04,60 m/5,00 m
Seitenhöhe: 05,70 m
Vermessung: 496 grt
Tragfähigkeit: 310 tdw
Verdrängung: 650 t
Leistung: 2 x 1.646 kW (2 x 2.250 PSe)
Geschwindigkeit: 13,5 kn
Pfahlzug: 52 t

Quellen:
Reed's Tug World Review 1997/1998,
Website von Fairplay,
Lekko International 110



Für Vergrößerungen der Bilder bitte auf die Miniaturen klicken!
- -
Fairplay 23 Fairplay 23
Fairplay 23: in Cuxhaven Fairplay 23: in Aktion
Fairplay 24 Fairplay 24
Fairplay 24: ..einparken Fairplay 24: ..vom Job zurück
Fairplay 24 Fairplay 24
Fairplay 24: Bugansicht Fairplay 24: Heckansicht
Fairplay 21 und 24 Fairplay 24
Fairplay 21 und 24: Heckansicht im Scheurhaven Fairplay 24: Bug
Fairplay 24 Fairplay 24
Fairplay 24: Backbord-Ansicht Aufbau Fairplay 24: Backbord-Ansicht Steuerhaus
Fairplay 21 und 24 Fairplay 21
Fairplay 21 und 24: Steuerhäuser Fairplay 21: Bugansicht Steuerhaus
Fairplay 24 Fairplay 24
Fairplay 24: Bugansicht Steuerhaus Fairplay 24: Aufgang zum Steuerhaus mit Rettungsinsel
Fairplay 23 Fairplay 23
Fairplay 23: Aufbau von achtern mit Winde Fairplay 23: Heckansicht Steuerhaus und Mast
Fairplay 23 Fairplay 24
Fairplay 23: Heckansicht Brücke mit Mastes Fairplay 24: Bugansicht des Mastes
Fairplay 23 Fairplay 24
Fairplay 23: Heckansicht Steuerhaus Fairplay 24: Mob-Boot mit Davit
Fairplay 23 Fairplay 23
Fairplay 23: Schleppdeck mit Pins Fairplay 23: Schleppdeck mit Winden
Fairplay 23 Fairplay 24
Fairplay 23: Schleppwinde mit Bock Fairplay 24: leere Speicherwinde
Fairplay 24 Fairplay 21 und 24
Fairplay 24: Bugschleppwinde Fairplay 21 und 24: ..im Scheurhaven
- -