-   Fairmount Summit

Fairmount Marine BV started as General Agent Overseas for Fukada Salvage & Marine Works Company Ltd, Japan. From this Fairmount developed with some detours - e.g. sell-out of the then owned deep-sea tugs and semi-submersible barges to British interests in 1989 - over the years to one of the leading marine contractors for ocean towage, and heavy-lift transportation by barge. Fairmount worked with chartered vessels during the 1990ies. The Chinese tugs DE YUE, DE DA, DE HONG, and HUA AN were taken into long term charter in 1995. At the advent of the new century Fairmount got to the conviction, that there would be a market for new-built deep-sea tugs with high pulling power in the long term. Together with Münchmeyer Petersen Capital (MPC), Groningen the tug new building programme was developed in 2002. The tugs were built from August 2004 to May 2007 and are

the FAIRMOUNT-Class tugs

-   Construction phase

All Fairmount class tugs were financed by special purpose limited partnerships managed by MPC Capital. These vessels are on a 10 year time-charter to Fairmount Marine BV with an option available to Fairmount Marine BV to buy the vessels after five years at pre-agreed purchase prices. The first two tugs were ordered from President Marine, Singapore in 2003. This was a natural move, as President Marine was building the tugs SALVISCOUNT und SALVANGUARD for Semco at that time, and the design of the Fairmount class was derived from these tugs. The design is by Vuyk Kenton, Singapore. The original design was developed from an AHTS's hull and was optimized for towing heavy objects. When President Marine declared insolvancy at the end of 2003 Fairmount had to look for a new shipyard. Fairmount found it in Niigata Shipbuilding & Repair, Japan. The contracts for the first two tugs were signed in April 2004. To the end of 2004 five tugs of the Fairmount class were on order at Niigata Shipyard & Repair. The keel laying ceremony for FAIRMOUNT SHERPA took place in Niigata, Japan in August 2004. The tugs were delivered in the following order: FAIRMOUNT SHERPA (delivered May 2005), FAIRMOUNT SUMMIT (October 2005), FAIRMOUNT ALPINE (May 2006), FAIRMOUNT GLACIER (July 2006), and FAIRMOUNT EXHIBITION (May 2007). The project was delayed approx. one year because of the difficulties with President Marine.


-   Desciption

General: The tugs of the Fairmount class are conventional deep-sea tugs with an open stern, making them suitable for anchorhandling work. They are equipped with two propellers in fixed nozzles and a conventional rudder behind each nozzle. The hull is built with a frame spacing of 600mm. From forward to aft the hull is divided into fore peak, bow thruster's compartment, refrigeration machinery room, engine room, aft fuel tank area, steering gear compartment, and aft peak. The tugs are powered by four Wärtsilä W 6L 32 engines delivering 4x 3,000kW (4x 4,080bhp) at 750rpm. The engines use Intermediate Fuel Oil (IFO), in this case IFO180. It is mixed from Heavy Fuel Oil (HFO) and Marine Diesel Oil (MDO) or Marine Gas Oil (MGO) to get the required viscosity. The engines drive two four-bladed 3.85 m diameter controllable pitch propellers through Wärtsilä ´twin in-single out´ gearboxes with a 4.84:1 reduction. The propellers are running in fixed Lips HR-nozzles. The tugs have a free-running speed of 16.5kts. The maximum continous bollard pull was 200t and 205t at 110% MCR on trials. The tank capacities are: 539m3 diesel fuel, 2,201m3 intermediate fuel oil (IFO180), and 216m3 potable water. This gives an endurance of approx. 40 days of continous towing. The tugs are equipped with one bow thruster with 825kW output delivering 12.5 tonnes of thrust. The stern thruster has an output of 736kW delivering 10.5 tonnes of thrust. Both are from Nakashima Propeller Co. Ltd. The tugs are equipped with a fire-fighting system according to FiFi1 standard. Two Kumera fire-fighting pumps are coupled to the foreward end of two main engines delivering each 1,200m3/h. The pumps supply water to two monitors and the water curtain self-protection system by Fire Fighting Systems (FFS) of Norway. The main engines additionally drive two shaft generators by means of gearbox power take-of's. Additionally there are two Caterpillar driven generator sets rated at 370kW, and a Caterpillar emergency generator set at 99kW.


Tanktop Deck:

On this deck from forward to aft are placed: the bow thruster, the sewage treatment plant, two generator sets, the main engines, tanks, the stern thruster, and the steering gear room. The engine control room is located against the bulkhead between sewage treatment compartment and engine room. Below is the double-bottom with it's tanks.


Tween Deck:

On this deck from forward to aft are placed: the bow thruster motor, refrigeration machinery room, exhaust uptakes, (offshore)-chain lockers, floor opening above main engines, and tanks. In front of the tanks emergency exits are located on both of sides of the ship. Behind the tanks are the stern thruster motor and the steering gear room. Both are accessible by a tunnel beneath the tanks.


Main Deck:

The crew mess, the officer's mess and the recreation room are placed here behind the fore peak on the port side. Behind, between hull and winch room, the air handling unit (AHU) compartment, a salvage store and work shop, and a paint store are fitted. The starboard side houses the galley, the provision store, cooler and freezer rooms, laundry, and a common toilet. Behind, between hull and winch room, a change room, the CO2-room, and a deck store are located. The winch room houses an electro-hydraulic waterfall type winch with three drums. On the lower level two towing drums holding 1,500m x 76mm towing wire are fitted. On the upper level one anchorhandling drum with the same capacity is installed. It is only fitted with 300m x 76mm working wire to take advantage of the maximum pulling power in the first layer. The lower drum shaft carries non-declutchable gypsies for chains up to 3,5" diameter on each side. All drums are declutchable. The winch was provided by Kitagawa Kogyo and has a brake capacity of 400t and a pulling power of 250t. A heavy duty towing crucifix supports the sheet-metal covering of the winch room's back wall. The 384m2 wood-sheated aft deck is fitted with offshore type cargo barriers. In front of the winch room two tugger winches with a pulling power of 10t are fitted, one each on starboard and port sides. They as well as the two capstans at the stern were provided by Kitagawa Kogyo too. In front of the stern roller (5,40m x 2,30m diameter) are two hydraulic vertical towing pins with 200t safe working load (SWL) and a hydraulically operated shark jaw with 300t SWL fitted. All were supplied by Plimsoll, manufactured to a Smith-Berger, Norway, licence.


Forecastle Deck:

It is completely surrounded by the hull and one winch room wall. Only to starboard and port sides of the winch room are small deck strips where three inflatable life rafts for 2 x 20 and 1 x 16 persons are mounted. Additionally at starboard two spare propeller blades are mounted. In the bow a large bosun's store is fitted. Behind it is the crew accommodation. There are five 4-bed cabins at the outside and one in the center of the deck. At starboard the hospital is situated behind two cabins. It has one bed and it's own sanitary space, a desk and lockers. The cabins have 2x 2 stacked beds, a settee, a desk, and four lockers. In the center is a common sanitary space.


Upper Forecastle Deck:

From port to starboard one single-bed cabin, two two-bed cabins with stacked beds, and another single-bed cabin are fitted. Behind an athwarth corridor another two-bed cabin is located at port and a conference and office room at starboard. Aft of these rooms the emergency generator room and a store are fitted. They are accessible from the aft part of the deck. The forecastle carries a Kitagawa Kogyo anchor winch with two gypsies and two warp heads, and the chain stoppers. Additionally a Smit-brackett is mounted. Two Plimsoll hydraulic slewing cranes are mounted at the aft end of the deck on either side. The port crane has a SWL of 8t at 7m outreach and of 1.5t at 9.5m to handle the m.o.b. boat. The starboard crane has a SWL of 8t at 7m outreach and handles the work boat. Both boats are rigid hull inflatables. Two small and one large storage winches are mounted between the cranes. The large one holds 1,500m x 76mm spare towing wire, the two small ones carry pennant wires. These winches are also from Kitagawa Kogyo.


Accomodation Deck:

Two single-bed suites for Captain and chief engineer are located at the foreward bulkhead of the superstructure. They consist of day cabin, bed room, and sanitary space. Behind a corridor two single-bed cabins with own sanitary space are fitted. In the center is a distribution board room.


Bridge Deck:

A steel-grid catwalk leads around the wheelhouse. The main control desk is mounted against it's foreward bulkhead. The desk contains beside the traditional wheel a joystick which can control rudder, main engines, and thrusters simultanously using the Lipstronic control system by Lips-Wärtsilä. At the aft bulkhead a second control desk overlooking the aft deck is fitted, additionally controlling the winches. At port is a radio station desk and at starboard a chart table. In the center of the room a communication desk and a work table are placed beside the staircase. Settees are fitted at both side bulkheads. The greater part of the navigation and communication equipment was provided by Furuno. Some exceptions are the gyro compass and the autopilot which are from Tokimec. The equipment contains among others two radar systems, DGPS navigation data recorder, AIS, and communication gear according to GMDSS area 3 standard including MF-, HF radio as well as Inmarsat C and F.


Wheelhouse Top:

It carries four search lights, the magnet compass, and the satellite communication antenna.


Monitor Platform:

The platform builds a bridge between the two stacks. It carries the mast and the two remote-controlled FFS-monitors.


Crew:

The tugs have a regular crew of 12 persons. Accommadation is available for 36 persons so that additional personnal can board according to the job requirements. The superstructure is fully air conditioned.


-   Einsätze

Operations: The tugs of the Fairmount class were employed mostly in towages of large objects since their commissioning. They performed the anchorhandling jobs where neccessary too. A selection of jobs is listed below:

    FPSO DALIA (l x b = 300 x 60m, 334.000tdw) from Korea to Angola, West Africa
    FPSO GREATER PLUTONIO (l x b 0 319 x 58m, 360.000tdw) from Korea to Luanda, Angola
    50.000tdw semi-submersible barge GAVEA LIFTER with two jack-up rigs from Dubai to the Gulf of Mexico
    50.000tdw semi-submersible barge GAVEA LIFTER with a jack-up rig from Dubai to the east coast of India
    19.300t semi-submersible barge FAIRMOUNT FJELL with 11.000t top structure for AMP II from Malysia to Nigeria
    Ssemi-submersible drilling platform FRONTIER DRILLER from Scottland to the Gulf of Mexico
    Crane barge H-1000 from Ningbo, East China to Mumbai (Bombay), West Indian coast
    Jack-up rig SEADRILL 6 from Singapore to Sakhalin (Russia), to Japan on 24.000tdw semi-submersible barge OCEAN SEAL, then on it's own keel. Later back to Japan.
    24.000tdw semi-submersible barge OCEAN ORC with cargo from Japan to El Salvador.
    Towing in the bulk carrier VOUTAKOS (l xb x td = 291,4 x 48 x 18m), loaded with 175,000t of coal, from the Western Approaches to Rotterdam after an engine black-out.

-   Spezification

Length o.A.: 75,05m
Length between perpendiculars: 66,60m
Breadth o.A.: 18,00m
Minimum draught: 05,80m
Maximum draught: 06,80m
Depth, moulded: 08,00m
Main engines: 4x Wärtsilä W 6L 32
Output main engines: 4x 3.000kW (4x 4.080PSe) bei 750U/min
Max. continous bollard pull: 200t
Max. bollard pull (110% MCR): 205t
Max. free-running speed: 16,5kts
Volume: 3.239BRZ
Loading capacity incl. fuel: approx. 3.568tdw

Sources: Fairmount Marine BV,
International Tug & Salvage (The Tugworld Review 2004 - 2005),
Lekko International Nr. 155 (Fairmount's Big Tugs),
Marinelog.com 2.Juni 2004,
Wärtsilä power for deap sea tugs



For photos in higher resolution please click the thumbnails!
- -
Fairmount Fairmount
Fairmount Sherpa Fairmount Sherpa in front of Kapstadt
Fairmount Fairmount
port view Fairmount Glacier with Voutakos in tow
Fairmount Fairmount
bow view superstructure starbord
Fairmount Fairmount
mast funnels
Fairmount Fairmount
starbord side topdeck
Fairmount Fairmount
stern view wheelhouse from aft
Fairmount Fairmount
superstructure from aft mast
Fairmount Fairmount
port side work deck
Fairmount Fairmount
cargo rail workdeck
Fairmount Fairmount
towing winch tugger winch
Fairmount Fairmount
towing cruzifix Smith-Berger-Sharks
Fairmount Fairmount
storage winch crane woth workboat
Fairmount Fairmount
crane port side emergency generator
Fairmount Fairmount
life raft backup blades props
Fairmount Fairmount
forecastle deck anchor winch
Fairmount Fairmount
engine room port side main engines
Fairmount Fairmount
bowthruster engine main engine
Fairmount Fairmount
engine control room starbord main engines
Fairmount Fairmount
aft control panel wheelhouse
Fairmount Fairmount
gen sets forward control panel
- -

-   Fairmount Summit

Die Reederei Fairmount Marine BV hat ihre Ursprünge in einer 1978 erhaltenen Generalagentur für Übersee der japanischen Firma Fukada Salvage & Marine Works Company Ltd. Daraus entwickelte sich im Laufe der Jahre mit Umwegen - z.B. Verkauf der inzwischen im Besitz befindlichen Seeschlepper und Halbtaucher-Barges im Jahr 1989 an britische Interessen - einer der bedeutendsten Anbieter für Hochseeverschleppungen und Seeschwerlasttransporte. In den 1990iger Jahren wurden die Aufträge mit gecharterten Fahrzeugen überwiegend asiatischer Herkunft durchgeführt. So wurden 1995 die chinesischen Schlepper DE YUE, DE DA, DE HONG und HUA AN in Langzeitcharter genommen. Anfang des neuen Jahrtausend reifte die Überzeugung, dass langfristig ein Markt für neue Hochseeschlepper mit hohem Pfahlzug vorhanden sein werde. Im Jahr 2002 wurde zusammen mit Münchmeyer Petersen Capital (MPC) aus Groningen, einer Investmentgesellschaft, das Neubauprogramm für die Schlepper entwickelt. Daraus entstand dann bis 2007:

die FAIRMOUNT Klasse

-   Projektphase

Alle Schlepper der Fairmount-Klasse wurden von jeweils einem eigenen Schiffsfond in Form einer Kommanditgesellschaft unter Management von MPC Capital finanziert. Sie sind für 10 Jahre an Fairmount Marine BV verchartert mit einer Kaufoption nach fünf Jahren zu einem bereits jetzt einvernehmlich festgelegten Kaufpreis. Die ersten beiden Schlepper wurden im Jahr 2003 bei President Marine in Singapore bestellt. Die Auftragsvergabe an diese Werft lag nahe, da sie bereits die beiden Schlepper SALVISCOUNT und SALVANGUARD für Semco baute, von deren Entwurf die Fairmount-Klasse abgeleitet ist. Der Entwurf wurde von Vuyk Kenton in Singapore ausgeführt. Dabei wurde das Design aus dem Rumpf eines AHTS entwickelt und dabei für das Schleppen schwerer Objekte optimiert. Als President Marine Ende 2003 Insolvenz anmeldete, musste sich Fairmount Marine BV eine neue Bauwerft suchen. Sie wurde Anfang 2004 in Niigata Shipbuilding & Repair in Japan gefunden und es wurden Verträge für zwei Schlepper geschlossen. Im Laufe des Jahres 2004 wurde die Anzahl der Bestellungen auf fünf erhöht. Die Kiellegung von FAIRMOUNT SHERPA und FAIRMOUNT SUMMIT fand im August 2004 auf der Werft in Niigata, Japan, statt. Die Schlepper wurden in der Reihenfolge FAIRMOUNT SHERPA (Ablieferung Mai 2005), FAIRMOUNT SUMMIT (Oktober 2005), FAIRMOUNT ALPINE (Mai 2006) , FAIRMOUNT GLACIER (Juli 2006) und FAIRMOUNT EXHIBITION (Mai 2007) abgeliefert.


-   Beschreibung

Allgemein:Die Schlepper der Fairmount-Klasse sind konventionelle Hochseeschlepper mit offenem Heck und damit der Fähigkeit, schwere Offshoreanker zu bewegen. Sie haben jeweils zwei Propeller in feststehenden Kortdüsen. Hinter jeder Düse ist ein konventionelles Ruder eingebaut. Der Rumpf ist mit einem Spantabstand von 600mm aufgebaut. Er ist in sieben wasserdichte Abteilungen aufgeteilt: Vorpiek, Bugstrahlruderraum, Kühlanlagenraum, Maschinenraum, achtere Treibstofftanks, Steueranlagenraum und Achterpiek. Angetrieben werden die Schlepper von je vier Wärtsilä Dieselmotoren vom Typ W 6L 32. Die Motoren haben eine Leistung von 4x 3.000kW (4x 4.080PSe) bei 750U/min. Die Maschinen werden mit Intermediate Fuel Oil (IFO) betrieben. In diesem Fall ist es IFO180. Es wird aus Schweröl und Diesel gemischt, um die geforderte Viskosität zu erreichen. Es wirken jeweils zwei Motoren paarweise über ein Wärtsilä-Getriebe mit einer Reduktion von 4,84:1 auf eine Schraubenwelle und einen Wärtsilä-Lips Verstellpropeller mit 3,85 m Durchmesser in Lips HR-Hochleistungsdüsen. Die Schlepper erreichen eine maximale Geschwindigkeit von 16,5kn. Der maximale Dauerpfahlzug betrug 200t und bei 110% Maschinenleistung wurden 205t gemessen. Die Bunkerkapazität beträgt: 539m3 Diesel, 2.201m3 Intermediate Fuel Oil (IFO180) und 216m3 Trinkwasser. Unter Schleppbedingungen reicht das für eine Seedauer von ca. 40 Tagen. Die Schlepper haben ein Bugstrahlruder mit Verstellpropellern mit einem Schub von 12,5t bei 825kW Leistung und ein Heckstrahlruder mit Verstellpropellern mit einem Schub von 10,5t bei 736kW Leistung. Beide stammen von Nakashima Propeller Co. Ltd, Japan. Die Schlepper sind mit einer Feuerlöschanlage nach FiFi1 Standard ausgerüstet. Zwei Kumera-Feuerlöschpumpen sind an den vorderen Kopf von zwei Hauptmaschinen gekuppelt. Sie leisten je 1.200m3/Std und versorgen die Löschanlage der Firma Fire Fighting Systems (FFS) bestehend u.A. aus zwei Löschmonitoren und einer Selbstschutzanlage. Zwei Wellengeneratoren werden über einen zweiten Abgang von den Wellengetrieben angetrieben. Zusätzlich gibt es zwei Caterpillar Generatorsets mit je 367kVA Leistung und ein Caterpillar Notstromaggregat mit 99kVA.


Tanktop Deck:

Hier sind u.A. die Hauptmaschinen mit zugehöriger Technik, die Generatorsets, die Abwasserreinigungsanlage und die zwei Querstromruder auf dem Tank-Doppelboden untergebracht. Angrenzend an das Schott der Abwasserreinigungsanlage ist der Steuerraum der Maschinenanlage angebaut.


Zwischendeck:

Hinter dem Bugstrahlruderraum befindet sich der Kühlanlagenraum. Außerdem sind verschiedene Tanks und zwei Kettenkästen für die Offshore-Ankerketten vorhanden. Am achteren Ende befindet sich je Schiffsseite ein Notausstieg und an Steuerbord der Gang zum Steueranlagen- und Heckstrahlruderraum.


Hauptdeck:

Auf dem Hauptdeck sind hinter der Vorpiek auf der Backbordseite die Besatzungsmesse, Offiziersmesse und ein Freizeitraum untergebracht. Daran schließen sich an der Bordwand neben dem Windenraum der Klimaanlagenraum, die Bergungslast mit Werkstatt und die Farbenlast an. Auf der Steuerbordseite befinden sich von Bug in Richtung achtern die Kombüse, Lebensmittellager, Kühl- und Gefrierräume sowie eine Wäscherei. Neben dem Windenraum liegen eine Gemeinschaftssanitäranlage, ein Umkleideraum, der CO2-Raum und eine Deckslast. Die elektro-hydraulische Schleppwinde ist vom Typ Wasserfall mit unten zwei Schlepptrommeln mit je 1.500m x 76mm Schleppdraht und oben einer Trommel für Ankerarbeiten. Die obere Trommel hat die gleiche Kapazität, ist aber nur mit 300m x 76mm Arbeitsdraht belegt, um möglichst die maximalen Kräfte der Winde (in der untersten Lage) nutzen zu können. Die Winde hat auf beiden Seiten je eine Kettennuss für Ketten bis 90mm Durchmesser. Die Trommeln sind auskuppelbar, die Nüsse nicht. Die Winde stammt von Kitagawa Kogyo und hat eine Haltekraft von 400t und eine Zugkraft von 250t. Die Rückwand des Windenraums nutzt das Schlepp-Kruzifix als Befestigung für die Blechverkleidung. Das mit Holz belegte Achterdeck hat eine freie Fläche von 384m2 und ist von verkleideten Laderelings auf beiden Seiten begrenzt. Vor dem Windenraum ist an Back- und Steuerbord jeweils eine Beistopperwinde mit 10t Zugkraft angeordnet. Sie stammen ebenso wie die beiden Spillköpfe am Heck vom Windenlieferanten. Vor der Heckrolle (5,40m x 2,30m Durchmesser) sind zwei vertikale, hydraulische betätigte Schlepppins (zul. Last 200t) und eine ebenfalls hydraulisch betätigte Shark Jaw (zul. Last 300t) eingebaut. Sie stammen von Plimsoll, Singapore, und sind nach einer Lizenz der Firma Smith-Berger, Norwegen, gefertigt.


Unteres Backdeck:

Das Deck ist vollkommen vom Rumpf umschlossen. Nur neben dem Windenraum befindet sich jeweils an Backbord und Steuerbord ein schmaler, teilweise überdeckter Decksstreifen, auf dem jeweils drei Rettungsinseln für 2x 20 und 1x 16 Personen montiert sind. An Steuerbord sind hier zwei Ersatzpropellerblätter montiert. Hinter dem im Bug angeordneten Kabelgatt befinden sich die Mannschaftswohnräume. Fünf der sechs hier angeordneten 4-Bett Kabinen sind außen angeordnet, eine weitere ebenso wie die Gemeinschaftssanitäranlage in Schiffsmitte. Diese Kabinen haben je zwei Stockwerksbetten, eine Sitzbank, einen Schreibtisch und vier Umkleideschränke. An Steuerbord ist ein kleines Hospital mit einem Bett und eigenem Sanitärbereich vorhanden.


Oberes Backdeck:

Im Aufbau befinden sich vorne von Backbord nach Steuerbord eine Einzelkabine und zwei Doppelkabinen mit Stockwerksbetten. Hinter einem quer verlaufenden Gang befindet sich an Backbord eine weitere Zweibettkabine und an Steuerbord ein Büro- und Konferenzraum. Hinter diesen beiden befinden sich an der Rückwand ein Lagerraum und der Notstromdieselraum. Auf der Back ist eine Ankerwinde mit zwei Kettennüssen und zwei Spillköpfen sowie den beiden Kettenstoppern von Kitagawa Kogyo aufgestellt. Es ist ein Smit-Brackett zur schnellen Befestigung einer Schleppverbindung montiert. Hinter dem Aufbau sind an der Hinterkante des Decks an Steuerbord und Backbord jeweils ein hydraulischer Schwenkkran der Firma Plimsoll montiert. Der Backbordkran hat eine zulässige Last von 8t bei 7m Ausladung und 1,5t bei 9m Ausladung, um das MOB Boot bedienen zu können. Der Steuerbordkran hat eine zulässige Last von 8t bei 7m Ausladung und bedient das Arbeitsboot. Beide Boote sind Festrumpf-Schlauchboote. Zwischen den Kranen sind eine große Speicherwinde für 1.500m x 76mm Reserveschleppdraht und zwei kleinere Speicherwinden für Drahtvorläufer angeordnet. Auch sie stammen von Kitagawa Kogyo.


Wohndeck:

An der Vorderfront des Aufbaus sind die Einzelkabinen für Kapitän und Chefingenieur angeordnet. Sie bestehen aus Tageskabine, Schlafraum und Sanitärbereich. Hinter einem Gang liegen zwei weitere Einzelkabinen mit zugehörigem Sanitärbereich. In der Mitte ist ein Elektroverteilerraum angeordnet.


Brückendeck:

Um die Brücke herum ist ein Gitterrost-Umlauf angeordnet. An der Vorderwand ist die Hauptsteuerkonsole eingebaut. Sie hat neben dem traditionellen Steuerrad auch einen Joystick, über den mittels Lipstronic Steuerelektronik von Lips-Wärtsilä Hauptmaschinen, Querstrahlruder und Ruder gemeinsam gesteuert werden können. An der Rückwand ist ein weiterer Fahrstand mit Blick auf das Achterdeck angeordnet, von dem neben den Winden auch das Schiff gesteuert werden kann. An der Backbordseite ist eine Radiostation und an der Steuerbordseite ein Kartentisch vorhanden. In der Mitte des Raumes sind neben dem Treppenaufgang ein Arbeitstisch und eine Kommunikationsstation angeordnet. Zusätzlich sind Sitzbänke und eine Teeküche vorhanden. Ein großer Teil der elektronischen Brückenausstattung wurde von Furuno geliefert. Ausnahmen sind u.A. der Kreiselkompass und der Autopilot, die von Tokimec stammen. Die Ausrüstung beinhaltet unter anderem zwei Radargeräte, DGPS Navigationsdatenrecorder, AIS und Kommunikationseinrichtungen nach GMDSS Area 3 Standard mit MF-, HF Radio und Inmarsat C und F.


Peildeck:

Hier sind der Magnetkompass, vier fernbediente Suchscheinwerfer und die Satellitenkommunikationantenne aufgestellt.


Monitorplattform:

Sie überbrückt das Peildeck und verbindet die beiden Abgaspfosten. Sie trägt den Mast und die beiden ferngesteuerten FFS-Feuerlöschmonitore.


Besatzung:

Die Schlepper der Fairmount Klasse fahren mit einer regulären Crew von 12 Personen. Insgesamt sind Unterkünfte für 36 Personen vorhanden, um je nach Aufgabenstellung zusätzliches Personal an Bord nehmen zu können. Die Aufbauten sind voll klimatisiert.


-   Einsätze

Einsätze: Die Schlepper der Fairmount Klasse sind seit ihrer Indienststellung für Verschleppungen großer Objekte eingesetzt worden. Dabei werden auch die erforderlichen Ankerarbeiten ausgeführt. Nachfolgend eine Auswahl der geschleppten Objekte:

    FPSO DALIA (l x b = 300 x 60m, 334.000tdw) von Korea nach Angola, Westafrika
    FPSO GREATER PLUTONIO (l x b 0 319 x 58m, 360.000tdw) von Korea nach Luanda, Angola
    50.000tdw Halbtaucher-Barge GAVEA LIFTER mit zwei Bohrhubinseln von Dubai zum Golf von Mexico
    50.000tdw Halbtaucher-Barge GAVEA LIFTER mit einer Bohrhubinsel von Dubai an die Ostküste Indiens
    19.300t Halbtaucher-Barge FAIRMOUNT FJELL mit 11.000t Deckteil für AMP II von Malysia nach Nigeria
    Halbtaucher-Bohrplattform FRONTIER DRILLER von Schottland an den Golf von Mexico
    Kranschiff H-1000 von Ningbo, Ostchina nach Mumbai (Bombay), westindische Küste
    Hubbohrinsel SEADRILL 6 von Singapore zur Insel Sakhalin (Russland), bis Japan auf 24.000tdw Halbtaucher-Barge OCEAN SEAL, dann frei schwimmend. Später zurück nach Japan.
    24.000tdw Halbtaucher-Barge OCEAN ORC mit Ladung von Japan nach El Salvador.
    Einschleppen des mit 175.000t Kohle beladenen Massengutfrachters Voutakos (l xb x td = 291,4 x 48 x 18m) nach Maschinenausfall vom Eingang des Ärmelkanals nach Rotterdam

-   Hauptabmessungen und Leistungen

Länge ü.A.: 75,05m
Länge zw. Loten: 66,60m
Breite: 18,00m
Minimaler Tiefgang: 05,80m
Maximaler Tiefgang: 06,80m
Seitenhöhe auf Spant: 08,00m
Hauptmaschine: 4x Wärtsilä W 6L 32
Leistung Hauptmaschine: 4x 3.000 kW (4x 4.080 PSe) bei 750U/min
Dauer-Pfahlzug: 200t
maximaler Pfahlzug: 205t
max. Geschwindigkeit: 16,5kn
Vermessung: 3.239BRZ
Zuladung: ca. 3.568tdw

Quellen: Fairmount Marine BV,
International Tug & Salvage (The Tugworld Review 2004 - 2005),
Lekko International Nr. 155 (Fairmount's Big Tugs),
Marinelog.com 2.Juni 2004,
Wärtsilä power for deap sea tugs



Für Vergrößerungen der Bilder bitte auf die Miniaturen klicken!
- -
Fairmount Fairmount
Fairmount Sherpa Fairmount Sherpa vor Kapstadt
Fairmount Fairmount
Backbord-Ansicht Fairmount Glacier mit Voutakos
Fairmount Fairmount
Bugansicht Aufbau Steuerbord vorn
Fairmount Fairmount
Mast Abgasrohre
Fairmount Fairmount
Steuerbord-Seite Aufbau Ausrüstung Peildeck
Fairmount Fairmount
Heckansicht Brücke von achtern
Fairmount Fairmount
Aufbau von achtern Mast von achtern
Fairmount Fairmount
Backbord-Seite Aufbau Achterdeck
Fairmount Fairmount
Ladereling Achterdeck
Fairmount Fairmount
Schleppwinde Tuggerwinsch
Fairmount Fairmount
Schleppkruzifix Smith-Berger-Sharks
Fairmount Fairmount
Speicherwinde Kran mit Arbeitsboot
Fairmount Fairmount
Backbord Kran Notstromgenerator
Fairmount Fairmount
Rettungsinseln Ersatzblätter für Propeller
Fairmount Fairmount
Back Ankerwinde
Fairmount Fairmount
Maschinenraum Backbord-Hauptmaschinen
Fairmount Fairmount
Antrieb Bugstrahlruder Hauptmaschine
Fairmount Fairmount
Maschinenfahrstand Steuerbord-Hauptmaschinen
Fairmount Fairmount
Fahrstand achtern Brücke
Fairmount Fairmount
Generator Bugfahrstand
- -