-   BUGSIER tugboats

The "Bugsier-, Reederei- und Bergungsgesellschaft mbh & Co. KG" changed the propulsion systems on their newbuilt tugs starting in 1991. After years of building Schottel tractor tugs they built BUGSIER 15, their first Voith-Schneider tractor. The bullard pull stayed unchanged at 31 tonnes (t). When the Dutch tug owners Smit and Kotug arrived in Hamburg they brought with them tugs which had bollard pulls approx. 50% higher, the local tugs. Bugsier reacted immediately and ordered two new tugs with 50 ton bollard pull. The first of these tugs was put into service in 1997. Three tugs were built over the years to the same design for Bugsier::

BUGSIER 19, BUGSIER 20 und BUGSIER 21

-   Construction period

The shipyard Hitzler-Werft in Lauenburg/Elbe was awarded with the design and building contract for BUGSIER 19 and BUGSIER 20 in 1996. BUGSIER 19 was commissioned on 11. August 1997, and BUGSIER 20 about three month later on 14. November 1997. BUGSIER 21 was ordered later and delivered in 2000. In the meantime Hitzler-Werft built two more tugs using the same hull and propulsion equipment: STELLA for T&S Transport und Service and WILHELMSHAVEN for URAG. Main difference to the Bugsier tugs is the installed fire fighting equipment to FiFi1 standard. The superstructure, Voith Schneider units, nozzle plate, and skeg were added at the Norderwerft shipyard in Hamburg. Reason the shallow shipping channel on the river Elbe at low water with only 2.30 m depth between Geesthacht and Lauenburg as well as the air draught of only 5.90 m at the bridges across the Elbe in Hamburg at low tide.


-   Description

General: BUGSIER 19 -21 are Voith-Schneider tractor tugs with their propulsion units beneath the bow. A nozzle plate was installed to protect the propeller blades in case of a grounding. A large skeg was placed at the stern to provide better course stability. Both are used in docking as supports. Each tug is driven by two Deutz-MWM diesel motors type SBV 9 M 628 providing 2,509 brake horsepower (bhp) at 925 rpm. The engines are coupled to two Voith-Schneider units type 28GII/210 with a diameter of 2.80 m and five blades of 2.10 m length. The tugs have a maximum speed of 13 kts and a bollard pull of 50 ton. They have a bunker capacity of 157 t.


Maindeck:

A hydraulically driven combined anchor and mooring winch is located on the foredeck. It was provided by Brattvaag and has two mooring drums and two spill heads. The winch has a pulling power of 13 ton and a holding power of 48 ton. The deck house is located behind the anchor winch. It contains the crew cabins (two single, two double berth), mess, galley and sanitary space. Its roof is the boat deck. A hydraulically driven Brattvaag towing winch is installed on the afterdeck behind the deck house. The winch is of the double-drum waterfall type. The winch carries 750 m steel wire for long distance towing on the upper drum and 150 m steel wire for habour use on the lower drum. Both have a diameter of 42 mm. The tugs carry a spare wire of 750 m length. Behind the towing winch stands a large fairlead. The 50 ton Midgard towing hook is fixed to this fairlead. A second, smaller fairlead is located half way between the first fairlead and the stern bulwark. A tow beam is integrated into the top of the smaller fairlead on BUGSIER 19 and 20. It is missing on BUGSIER 21. Additionally a vertical spill is located on the afterdeck of BUGSIER 19 and 20. BUGSIER 21 carries a tugger winch instead. Both have a pulling power of 6.6 t. The stern bulwark has a slit in the ship's center line which makes anchor handling possible although the anchors can't be taken aboard. A HAP BTLi 10-2 crane with 0.70 t safe working load (swl.) at 10.00 m reach is situated on a column at the starboard end of the deck house.


Boat deck:

The wheelhouse is located on the aft part of the boat deck. A man over board boat (m.o.b.-boat) with ist launching crane is placed between the wheelhouse and a breakwater. A life raft is located on each side at the aft end of the boat deck.


Bridge deck:

It is located about 1.40 m higher than the boat deck on BUGSIER 19 and 20. A technical compartment is placed in-between. On BUGSIER 21 the bridge deck is located a full deck higher to provide room for the master's cabin on the boat deck. Control consoles are placed on the fore and aft bulkheads of the wheelhouse. The navigation and communication equipment contains Global Maritime Distress and Safety System to Area 2 standard (GMDSS A2), Inmersat M satellite mobile phone, 3 x VHF, gyro compass, echosounder, Satnav Differential GPS (DGPS), two radar systems, weather fax and Global System for Mobile communications (GSM) mobile phone.


Topdeck:

It is the roof of the wheelhouse and carries the mast as well as two searchlights.


-   Operations

The three tugs work as harbour assistance tugs in Hamburg and in the case of BUGSIER 20 nowadays in Bremerhaven. They operate in offshore jobs too.


-   Particulars

Length o.a.: 30,60 m
Breadth moulded: 11,00 m
Draught: hull/propulsion units: 03,60 m/5,12 m
Depth: 04,00 m
Volume B19+20/21: 359/382 gross tons
Engine output: 2 x 2,509 bhp (2 x 1,845 kW)
Speed: 13 kts
Bollard pull: 50 ton

Sources:
Reed's Tug World Review 1997/1998,
Website of BUGSIER,
Lekko International 110



For photos in higher resolution please click the thumbnails!
- -
Bugsier 19 Bugsier 20
Bugsier 19: view from portside Bugsier 20: starbordside
Bugsier 21 Bugsier 19
Bugsier 21: view from portside Bugsier 19: bow view bridge
Bugsier 19 Bugsier 21
Bugsier 19: bow view Bugsier 21: bow view
Bugsier 20 Bugsier 21
Bugsier 20: stern view Bugsier 21: stern view
Bugsier 20 Bugsier 21
Bugsier 20: bow view bridge Bugsier 21: portside of the superstructure
Bugsier 20 Bugsier 21
Bugsier 20: portside of the superstructure Bugsier 21: bow view of the superstructureu
Bugsier 21 Bugsier 21
Bugsier 21: starbordside Bugsier 21: bow view bridge
Bugsier 20 Bugsier 21
Bugsier 20: stern view bridge Bugsier 21: stern view bridge
Bugsier 20 Bugsier 21
Bugsier 20: stern view mast Bugsier 21: bow view mast
Bugsier 20 Bugsier 21
Bugsier 20: working deck Bugsier 21: working deck
Bugsier 20 Bugsier 21
Bugsier 20: towing winch with capstan Bugsier 21: towing winch with tuggerwinch
Bugsier 21 Bugsier 21
Bugsier 21: towing winch Bugsier 21: fairlead with towing hook
Bugsier 21 Bugsier 21
Bugsier 21: tuggerwinch Bugsier 21: crane with liferaft
Bugsier 20 Bugsier 20
Bugsier 20: workboat Bugsier 20: forecastle deck
Bugsier 21 Bugsier 21
Bugsier 21: helmstand bow Bugsier 21: helmstand stern
- -

-   Die BUGSIER Schlepper

Mit BUGSIER 15 hatte die Bugsier-, Reederei- und Bergungsgesellschaft mbh & Co. KG 1991 die Antriebsart ihrer Schlepper gewechselt. Nach jahrelang gebauten Schottel Traktor-Schleppern wurde erstmals ein Voith-Schneider-Traktor gebaut. Der Pfahlzug blieb mit 31t unverändert. 1996 kamen die Reedereien Smit und Kotug mit Schleppern nach Hamburg, die um mehr als 50% größeren Pfahlzug hatten, als die Hamburger Schlepper. Bugsier reagierte schnell und bestellte zwei neue Schlepper. Der erste dieser Schlepper mit 50t Pfahlzug wurde 1997 in Dienst gestellt. Insgesamt wurden drei Schlepper für Bugsier gebaut:

BUGSIER 19, BUGSIER 20 und BUGSIER 21

-   Projektabwicklung

Die Hitzler-Werft in Lauenburg/Elbe erhielt noch 1996 den Auftrag für Entwurf und Bau von BUGSIER 19 und 20. BUGSIER 19 wurde Mitte August 1997 in Betrieb genommen, BUGSIER 20 ca. drei Monate später. BUGSIER 21 wurde später bestellt und im Jahr 2000 abgeliefert. Zwischenzeitlich baute Hitzler zwei weitere Schlepper mit gleichem Rumpf und gleichem Antrieb: STELLA für T&S Transport und Service sowie WILHELMSHAVEN für die URAG. Diese beiden Schlepper unterscheiden sich hauptsächlich durch die eingebaute Feuerlöschanlage von den Bugsier Schleppern. Die geringe Fahrwassertiefe bei Lauenburg ( 2,30m bei Niedrigwasser ) und die Durchfahrtshöhe der Hamburger Elbbrücken von nur 5,90m bei Tideniedrigwasser führte dazu, dass Voith-Schneider Propellerblätter, Schutzplatte und Dockflosse auf der Hamburger Norderwerft an den Rumpf angebaut und die Aufbauten aufgesetzt wurden.


-   Beschreibung

Allgemein: BUGSIER 19 - 21 sind Voith-Schneider Traktorschlepper mit den Antriebseinheiten unter dem Bug. Zum Schutz der Propellerblätter sind Dockplatten eingebaut. Unter dem Heck ist zur Verbesserung der Richtungsstabilität und Vergrößerung der Steuerkräfte eine große Steuerfläche, die Dockflosse, vorgesehen. Die drei Schlepper werden von je zwei Deutz-MWM Dieselmotoren vom Typ SBV 9 M 628 mit einer Leistung von je 2.509PSe bei 925U/min angetrieben. Die Motoren treiben zwei Voith-Schneider Propeller (VSP) vom Typ 28GII/210 mit 2,80m Durchmesser und fünf Blättern mit 2,10m Länge an. Diese Motorisierung verhilft den Schleppern zu einer maximalen Geschwindigkeit von 13kn und 50t Pfahlzug. Die Schlepper haben eine Bunkerkapazität von 157t.


Hauptdeck:

Auf dem Vordeck steht eine hydraulisch betriebene, kombinierte Anker- und Festmacherwinde von Brattvaag. Sie hat zwei Festmachertrommeln und zwei Spillköpfe und hat eine Zugkraft von 13t sowie eine Haltekraft von 48t. Außerdem sind zwei Umlenkrollen eingebaut. Das Achterdeck dient als Schleppdeck. Es trägt die ebenfalls hydraulisch betriebene Brattvaag Doppeltrommel-Schleppwinde in Wasserfallkonfiguration. Auf der oberen Windentrommel liegen 1 x 750m Schleppdraht auf der unteren 1 x 150m Schleppdraht für den Hafenbetrieb von je 42mm Durchmesser. Die Schlepper haben zusätzlich 1 x 750m Reservedraht an Bord. Hinter der Schleppwinde steht ein großer Schleppbock. An ihm ist der 50t Midgard Schlepphaken angeschlagen. Ungefähr auf halbem Weg zum achteren Schanzkleid steht ein weiterer, kleinerer Schleppbock. Bei BUGSIER 19 und 20 verläuft über seinen Kopf ein Schleppbügel. Dieser fehlt bei BUGSIER 21. Außerdem trägt das Achterdeck bei BUGSIER 19 und 20 einen Verholspill, bei BUGSIER 21 eine Beistopperwinde jeweils mit 6,6t Zugkraft. Das Schanzkleid hat am Heck in der Längsachse einen Schlitz, der Ankerarbeiten ermöglicht. Anker können aber nicht an Bord genommen werden. Das Deckshaus steht zwischen Anker- und Schleppwinde. In ihm sind die Besatzungskabinen (zwei Einzel und zwei Doppel), Messe, Galley und Sanitärräume untergebracht. Nach oben werden die Unterkünfte durch das Bootsdeck abgeschlossen. An der Hinterkante des Deckshauses steht auf einer Säule ein HAP BTLi 10-2 Kran mit 0,95t zulässiger Last (SWL) bei 10m Ausladung.


Bootsdeck:

Das Steuerhaus steht auf dem hinteren Teil des Bootsdecks. Davor ist hinter einem Wellenbrecher das MOB-Boot mit seinem Kran untergebracht. Am hinteren Ende ist auf jeder Seite je eine Rettungsinsel vorgesehen.


Brückendeck:

Es liegt bei BUGSIER 19 und 20 ca. 1,40m oberhalb des Bootsdecks. Im Zwischenraum ist ein Technikraum untergebracht. Bei BUGSIER 21 liegt das Brückendeck ein volles Deck höher, da auf dem Bootsdeck zusätzlich zur Technik die Kapitänskajüte angeordnet ist. Dadurch ergibt sich der typische Vorbau vor dem Steuerhaus. Im Steuerhaus sind jeweils bug- und heckseitig ein Fahrstand vorgesehen. Die Navigations- und Kommunikationsausrüstung besteht aus GMDSS A2 (Global Maritime Distress and Safety System Area 2), Inmersat M Satellitentelefon, 3 x VHF, Echolot, Kreiselkompass, Satnav DGPS (Differential GPS), zwei Radargeräten, Wetterfax, GSM (Global System for Mobile communications) Mobiltelefon.


Topdeck:

Es bildet das Dach des Steuerhauses und trägt den Mast sowie zwei Suchscheinwerfer.


-   Einsätze

Alle drei Schlepper sind als Hafenschlepper in Hamburg und im Fall der Bugsier 20 neuerdings in Bremerhafen tätig. Zusätzlich werden sie im Offshore Bereich eingesetzt.


-   Hauptabmessungen und Leistungen

Länge ü.A.: 30,60 m
Breite ü.Spanten: 11,00 m
Tiefgang Rumpf: 03,60 m
Tiefgang Antrieb: 05,12 m
Seitenhöhe: 04,00 m
Vermessung B19+20/21: 359 GRT / 382GRT
Leistung: 2 x 1.845 kW (5018 PSe)
Geschwindigkeit: 13 kn
Pfahlzug: 50 t

Quellen:
Reed's Tug World Review 1997/1998,
Website von BUGSIER,
Lekko International 110



Für Vergrößerungen der Bilder bitte auf die Miniaturen klicken!
- -
Bugsier 19 Bugsier 20
Bugsier 19: Ansicht von Backbord Bugsier 20: Steuerbord-Ansicht
Bugsier 21 Bugsier 19
Bugsier 21: Ansicht von backbord Bugsier 19: Bugansicht Steuerhaus
Bugsier 19 Bugsier 21
Bugsier 19: Bugansicht Bugsier 21: Bugansicht
Bugsier 20 Bugsier 21
Bugsier 20: Heckansicht Bugsier 21: Heckansicht
Bugsier 20 Bugsier 21
Bugsier 20: Bugansicht Steuerhaus Bugsier 21: Aufbau von Backbord
Bugsier 20 Bugsier 21
Bugsier 20: Aufbau von Backbord Bugsier 21: Bugansicht Aufbau
Bugsier 21 Bugsier 21
Bugsier 21: Steuerbord-Ansicht Bugsier 21: Bugansicht Steuerhaus
Bugsier 20 Bugsier 21
Bugsier 20: Steuerhaus von achtern Bugsier 21: Heckansicht Steuerhaus
Bugsier 20 Bugsier 21
Bugsier 20: Heckansicht des Mastes Bugsier 21: Bugansicht des Mastes
Bugsier 20 Bugsier 21
Bugsier 20: Achterdeck Bugsier 21: Achterdeck
Bugsier 20 Bugsier 21
Bugsier 20: Schleppwinde mit Verholspill Bugsier 21: Schleppwinde mit Beistopperwinde
Bugsier 21 Bugsier 21
Bugsier 21: Schleppwinde Bugsier 21: Schleppbock mit Haken
Bugsier 21 Bugsier 21
Bugsier 21: Beistopperwinde Bugsier 21: Kran und Rettungsinsel
Bugsier 20 Bugsier 20
Bugsier 20: MOB-Boot Bugsier 20: Vordeck
Bugsier 21 Bugsier 21
Bugsier 21: vorderer Fahrstand Bugsier 21: achterer Fahrstand
- -